Entry for - w0olf Design a character challenge - Week 7 Color challenge

in #designacharacter6 years ago (edited)


cover-gif.gif

Meet Klou

a character I made for @w0olf Design a character contest!
This is my 3rd time participating in @w0olf's contest and I like it because I can challenge myself to design a character! It is so fun to create something new when there are limitations because you never know what will be created :D For this challenge, we need to design a character based on a given color scheme. I use Photoshop CC to draw.


The color scheme

DQmPCL4Xj7khtFwkPy5CvfewTMQn74m4fufNWGSwS1mkjXQ_1680x8400.png

I know I wanted to create a character but for this color scheme, I had no idea what to draw. Normally I could already imagine a character and just need to sketch it out. But, none came to me. So I try to approach it a little different this time.


Shape of the character

1.png

I decided to start with shapes! Triangle for the head and a square body. Then I try to imagine how would the head and face look like. A triangle is hard! I took some time to figure out what to put on his head and just go with the flow. At the same time, I use the basic color scheme on it to get the colors out. When the head is done, here comes the body. It is even harder to give him a square body because his head just doesn't match. So I play around sketching on it and decided to add some props behind him to get a nice silhouette.


Adding Details

2.png

Next, I painted more details like shading and cleaned up the edges. I use my previous sketch line as a reference and paint the basic shapes before adding details.


Mysterious plant

3.png

Okay so I don't know what is this plant but I had the urge to make them round and fluffy. I painted the shades first and when it looks nice and composed, I add white strokes around them. Then it's shading again. This one is the overall shading. I use black with 40% opacity and just paint over places that are blocked when the light comes from the left.


Creating shadow

4.png

Now to create shadow, I merged everything, duplicate and made it black. I use perspective to shape it until it looks flatten. Then I put it behind the original layer and decrease the shadow opacity to 40%. Finally, I changed the background color and add little lights around him.


Klou is created

23.jpg

Here's a story I made of him.

Every morning, Klou's daily life starts by harvesting the Pupari grass out at the cliff side of the forest. He knows that the Pupari grass is good for its soothing scent and it's weirdly tasty taste when put into cooking as spices. It is his family special ingredient passed down through generations. Klou uses it in his cooking and many came to have a taste of his weird tasty meal that makes you crave for 3rds and more.


Making of Klou

Process.gif


Thank you for reading and have a good day! See you in the next post~

Love
Ellie & Klou

DQmXf8zpyVEGxHjGow3mnB3KWeyPuLoWLpCBUyFzfpANW7Z.png

steem engine.png

Sort:  

Aww he's so cute! :D
Happy to see an entry from you again this week! :)

Always my pleasure to join! Thanks again for having this contest :D

What a cute little fella!

Thank you! ^^

He is the best little men! Wonderful work!

Hardworking little man :D Thank you!

Klou, the winter bringer. Very cute! Good luck on the contest! :D

Thank you @kothy! :D

Great work. I like that you started from only a square for the body. Was it a challenge or did you have the idea in mind?

Thank you! I made it a challenge for myself since I have no Idea what to draw. After making the shape, I try to visualize how it would look like with a square body. I took some time at this part by sketching over and over until I get the look. :)

Super cute style, love it! And the gif is great, awesome to see all the steps and stuff like the face variants. :D

Hehe Thanks!
This is for you then ;) I made it but thought its too much to put into :P

hello.gif
"He_lloo"

:D :) :| :d :0 :S
Awesome!

Love what you did with the GIF there. 😀

The process gif? haha 😀

Simply excellent! Thank you for the process steps in making Klou.

your welcome! :>

Que tierno tu personaje!

muchas gracias!

Great use of the given color palette, @elliebong! 😉

Hey thankss! just dropping them where they can be at home :P

Wah very cute @elliebong

Thank you! @gethachan appreciate you dropping by :)

Youre welcome miss @elliebong really nice to hear that :)

How good your character! the creation process is admirable and I can enjoy it (sure not as much as you do) but a good part! And that is very important, I congratulate you, very good aesthetics: D

Thank you very much @omarydler! I am very glad you enjoyed it :D I do enjoy making it myself and hoping I could portray it as fun as possible. 😊

Awesome work keep sharing your ary work. The character is cute little guy.

Thank you! will do :)