Design a Character S9 Entry #1 : Deathbringer Angel - Mignola style

in #designacharacter6 years ago (edited)

Here´s my entry for the DESIGN A CHARACTER contest - Season 9 by @w0olf. If you want to enter you´re still on time. You can find the rules here: https://steemit.com/designacharacter/@w0olf/design-a-character-season-9-style-challenge-win-sbd

I´ve tried. The result is not even close to any of the master´s creations but hey, the fun I´ve had miles away from my confort zone it´s worth all the hours trying to get a glimpse of the shape mastery that Mike Mignola has.

Anyway here´s is the first entry for the contest.
death_f.jpg
Zoom in
This angel is not the kind type. If you ask for help, don´t worry, all your problems will be gone for good.

And here are some of the process images I´ve saved. There are not many as I´ve been struggling to keep it simple enough and I forgot to save some of the painting process itself.

The sketch, done in Mischief. This software is great for sketching many ideas when you don´t have a clear one. It has an infinite canvas can comes in handy for idea exploration.
00.jpg

"Clean" drawing and the backgroun color.
01.jpg

Colored drawing. I tried to keep the shapes simple but I´ve a long way until I manage to make and acttractive design.
02.jpg

Background. I know, guilty of lazzyness
03.jpg

Some color tweaks.
04.jpg

And the final edition has been done with Nik tools in lightroom.
death_s.jpg
Zoom in

Thanks for watching!
follow me!
If you want :)

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by javicuesta from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for the great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the artzone tag, and support our artists!

woow so stylish D83DDC95.png

Thank you @hloria! Still a lot to learn though :)

My fellow artist @javicuesta, I've added you to my weekly round-up artist support initiative future! Keep up the good work and wish you all the best in your art future! MeGy :) #supportartist

Thank you so much @megy.fine.arts! You stayed under my radar. No more! Great initiative, great selections and great artwork in your blog! :)

You are welcome. I always love to discover new beautiful artworks...so, you flew over my radar and we find each other finally! xD Tnx for those words and keep that art incoming!

Love the composition and the monotone color scheme.

Thank you! Muted colors are great, and even if I usually oversaturate everything I do love subtle nuances and playing with almost grey colors :)

image

Congratulations! This post was recognized for being awesome!

https://steemit.com/art/@dirkhooper/curation-post-dirk-s-steemit-weekly-showcase-4-7-2018

Thank you very much for the feature @dirkhooper! :)