DESIGN A CHARACTER CONTEST - Color Challenge: Mermaid Novia

in #designacharacter6 years ago (edited)

title.png

Dear Steemians!

I decided to enter the DESIGN A CHARACTER CONTEST - Color Challenge by @w0olf. It‘s already over and I started a bit late today, but here‘s my entry anyway. :)

The colors reminded me of a mermaid, and I wanted to create something with water and pearls. So I started with a fast sketch and immediately started to sculpt in ZBrush, given the time.

sketch.png

I modeled the character in ZBrush, started off with ZSpheres and sculpted from there on the mesh, then exported all Subtools and textured it in Blender with the Texture Paint-Mode. The upper body is symmetrical, because I wanted to skip the rigging and the fin is modeled in a way, that I can animate it later on easily.

gifmermaid.png

I tested out different combinations, but I ended up with the blue skin-tone and pink/purple fin- I liked the variation of the shining eyes, but in the end it reminded me too much of Supernova from Rick&Morty, so I chose pearls for the eye-texture. It‘s really hard to stick to 4 colors plus b/w, so I added some lighting in the given colors et voilà :D

render3.png

mermaidcomments.png

I want to use Substance Painter the next time to practice more on texturing and animate the mermaid soon! Hope you like it and I‘ll try my best the next time to be on time:) It was great fun and a good practice though:D I never finished a character completely in a day, so I am quite happy with the result. :)

gifmermaid.gif

Thanks for reading!
xxx.

Sort:  

A 3D Artist publishing his works here?! Certainly the kind of opportunity that should not be missed, amazing modeling @jellenmark!! Followed

Ooh thank you, I love your illustrations! I am a small beginner, but I‘ll try to post more 3D art:)

You got a 33.99% upvote from @mercurybot courtesy of @geronimo!

This post has received a 9.61 % upvote from thanks to: @geronimo.
For more information, click here!!!!
Send minimum 0.010 SBD to bid for votes.
The Minnowhelper team is still looking for investors (Minimum 10 SP), if you are interested in this, read the conditions of how to invest click here!!!
ROI Calculator for Investors click here!!!

This post has 0.54% gratitude from @appreciator, thanks to @geronimo!

This post has received a 0.54 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @geronimo. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Congratulations @jellenmark! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

What about designing a steemian? :)