You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: DESIGN A CHARACTER CONTEST - Week 4 - SPECIAL EDITION! ~ WIN SBD

Hi !
I'm not sure I understand all (English isn't my native langage).

The contest is : to create images or GIF ? Or the two ? Or only GIF ?

In addition, this competition is similar to what is called a "big scam"in illustration circles. Indeed, several artists, professionals or beginners, will work (provide a finished and directly usable product from an order) for a legal entity (here @steemkitten) while only one of them will be paid. If I have understood correctly, @steemkitten will also have the possibility to use all the GIFs / images created, even by the participants who did not win the contest (there are very talented designers here and I have no doubt that @steemkitten will use several of the creations of the contest).

Here, given the stakes involved, I agree that it is not very serious (we are talking about a drawing, a bot that has only 49 subscribers for the moment).
However, I disapprove of the principle, because it is partly because of these competitions that the profession of illustrators is dying, that my colleagues have to work 12 hours a day under bad stress conditions, because young people (unaware of the problems of the profession) offer their services almost for free (only one get money from the custuer of the contest).

For this reason, even if I am very tempted by the contest, I will not participate.

I'm not judging you, nor @steemkitten, because the "responsible" is mostly misinformation. We think we do well (the famous "it will make you advertise"), while we depreciate the value of artists' work (years of learning, equipment to be amortized).

I hope that you will not take this remark badly and that on the contrary it will be able to clarify the problems of illustration (at least, in France, but I think it's the same all around the world).

I look forward to your next contest :)

Oreille Pointue

Sort:  
Loading...
Loading...

Hi,

sorry but i dont understand what you mean. I´m a photograph and when i take part on a contest, there is always the same procedure. Not everyone will win this content and yes maybe you invest much time and love in your project. But thats life.

So if you mean, when you creates a artwork, to get paid for this, i think you should start your own business and dont take part of any contests.

I think this contest is very fair and it also takes time and love to set it up.

Ragna

Hi !
It was not the contest that upset me, but the fact that there is an upstream order.
It's a kind of situation I'm fighting against in my life... but it's true that on steemit, it's different.
@w0olf and @fraenk reassured me : it's not an order, only a possible perspective.