DESIGN A CHARACTER CONTEST - Week 8 - Reimagine Challenge ~ WIN SBD

in #designacharacter6 years ago (edited)

DAC_REIMAGINE.PNG

Hey lovely Artists,

after a long break, I´m happy to tell you it´s time for this weeks #designacharacter contest! :D
As I already told you, I was, and still am, very busy with life and wedding preparations.
But finally I found some time to set up a new episode of the #designacharacter contest.

I hope you guys are still motivated to take part in the contest and I´m looking forward to your awesome entries.

TXJiSN8vCERuE.gif


Design A Character Contest - Week 8

The Contest

This contest is open to artists of any level, background and drawing style.
Traditional Art will be accepted as well as Digital art.
Every week I will post a new challenge and want you to design your own character based on the given theme.

Every weeks contest will have one challenge of the following themes:

ThemeWhat is it all about
Shape ChallengeDesign one (or more) character(s) based on one (or more) given shapes
Style ChallengeDesign a character in the style of an given artist, series or studio
Color ChallengeDesign a character based on a given color sheme
Theme ChallengeDesign a character based on a given theme
Reimagine ChallengeReimagine a given character

The judging

This weeks Contest begins on Monday 5th of March.
On Sunday 11th of March I will post the Top 3 and allow steemit users to vote for the final placements.
The Winners will be announced on Monday 12th of February.


The Prizes

prize

The winners will be announced on next Friday and will be rewarded with
70% of all SBD raised on that weeks #designacharacter contest-posts.

The prizes will split up as follows:

PlaceRewards
🥇 1st Place40% of the SBD Rewards of this weeks #designacharacter contest-posts + 1 @trophy-token
🥈 2nd Place20% of the SBD Rewards of this weeks #designacharacter contest-posts + 1 @trophy-token
🥉 3rd Place10% of the SBD Rewards of this weeks #designacharacter contest-posts + 1 @trophy-token

So keep upvoting and resteeming the contest-posts, to make the prizes as big as possible ;)


The Rules

rules

  • HAVE FUN!!
    That´s the most important thing ;)
  • Upvote and Resteem this post
  • Design a character based on the theme given
  • Make a post of your own for your entry
  • You can make up to 3 Entry-Posts
  • Make sure to add #designacharacter as your first tag
  • In your post describe the medium/the process a bit if possible
  • Post the links to your entries in comments of this post, so other participants and myself can find it.
  • All entries must be submitted before Sunday 11th of March at 5PM UTC.
  • No Pre Existing Original Characters
    Every artwork must be new and made for this contest.
  • All entries must be original works of art

Additional Info


If you have suggestions for this contest, or want to be a sponsor and/or guest judge, I´d be happy if you contact me via discord (w0olf#9231) or Steemit-Chat!


But now to this weeks Challenge...

This weeks theme is the Reimagine Challenge:

The Reimagine Challenge works like this:

I present you one (or more) existing characters, and you reimagine this Character(s) in a different style, theme, age or even race and gender. :D
There is no limtation, except your imagination :)

It´s as easy as it sounds! ;)


There were sooo many great entries last time!
Just have a look at our 1st Reimagine Challenge


And this weeks Characters are:

Genie - from Disney´s Aladdin

Genie5.png

Google Pics for inspiration

Stimpy - from John Kricfalusi´s Ren & Stimpy

Google Pics for inspiration

Spike Spiegel - from Sunrise Studio´s Cowboy Bebop

Google Pics for inspiration


I hope you have as much fun as last in the last reimagine challenge!

So, I wish u happy drawing!
I´m really looking forward to your entries!!

If u have any questions, feel free to ask in the comments. :)

Have a nice day and steem on!

Cheers,
@w0olf

ruler

Our Discord Channel has already grown to a great community of artists and Art-Lovers!
So why wait? Just join in the fun! :D


Join our #designacharacter discord server!

ruler

Sort:  

Hi @w0olf :D !

Nice to see you around!
There is my participation with Stimpy : https://steemit.com/designacharacter/@oreille-pointue/watercolor-designacharacter-contest-8-stimpy-fr-en

Stimpy001-11.jpg

I don't think I'll have the time to make an other entry but I'll try.

Thank again for this contest, it's so funny ^^

See you!

Wow! Looks nice!
Sweet entry (and with water colors) :)

hah... dang that's awesome!

update below!!!
post here
Hey all, well life officially caught up with me. Have to get to the hospital with my other half, she's not been doing great. Sooooo I have a half finished image to share but no post ready until I get back to this image. Meet the crazy genie who's power has gone to his head.

genie7.jpg

Update:
Well I needed to chill in the evening, kids in bed... cant do much else soo I went all finearts styley in Photoshop :-) Lost the cartoon proportions on the monkey too.
Post still says 6 days on it.

genie110.jpg

Hellooooo~~~! Managed to make an entry again for a change :D whoohooo!
here it is ;) Genie and Aladdin (because I couldn't resist doing both) in female version. Coz I love gender bending. mwehehe
hope you like. :D
Genie_Gender_bender-72dpi.jpg

hiya! here's my entry (i did SPIKE SPIEGEL), and here's the post i made about it. thanks for running this contest, this was super fun, and good luck to everyone!

cowboy PUNK ROCK 66.jpg

Ohh my, Ohh me.... I think i did a little pee of excitement. Ok not really but dammmmmn love this contest :D

This week is going to be hectic! :D
I love the options :)

woah... you're back :D

so nice that you can already show off all the awesome entries from the previous round as perfect examples on how this could play out.

Kudos!

This one gonna be great :D

My entry. I modified the genie, i hope it qualifies

https://steemit.com/contest/@riotpigeon/genie-and-a-hamburger

I like it :D

Great to see the contest back from hiatus! Hope all is well in your life wolf. I hoard the all the gifs that you use in steemit posts by the way. :D. I can't wait to see what everyone comes up with this week for the contests. I have a personal bias towards the genie because I love Robin Williams.

oh this is a great one...sadly idk if time will allow me to enter... :)

ps: never got married...but my sister did a few years ago...crazy times...u hang in there :)

Aww hope you find some time! Love your entries! ;)

Yeah I'm so excited already!! :D

Ooh lets see if i can finish a drawing for once!! Thanks for the old 90s characyers for us old fogies hehehe!!

Hi there is my entry, only a few hours to reach the 7 days but I had no light for 27 hours so I was not able to finish it and upload it before :c hope you like
Genio.jpg
https://steemit.com/designacharacter/@drupi/design-a-character-contest-week-8-reimagine-challenge-entry

This is my entry for the contest and you can find the post here

Ooh boy, dis gon' be good! 😁

Wow this is amazing! Lemme see what I can do. Haha. I love this. Someone should sponsor this because it's amazingly inspiring! Hahaha.

Totally agree! Looking forward to your entry! ;)

Heck I can't think of a good look. Whew. Hopefully I can get my entry in in time, otherwise I might join the next.

Hy! I am a bot and I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for great post! I follow you!

Whoa! Very interesting contest!
I'll see if I can join in on the fun.

Hello!

Here I am dropping a last minute entry. It's Stimpy as a Digimon evolution line. I hope you like it!

https://steemit.com/designacharacter/@edenci/design-a-character-contest-week-8-stimpy-as-a-digimon-evolution-line

Sadly I missed it this week. :(
I was excited but I couldn't find my inspiration.
Good luck everyone!

 6 years ago  Reveal Comment

@fraenk ???

I'm here every now and then, too :D

what's up? how's things?

I was confused by the name change

Heh, I see... you haven't been keeping up to date ;) nudge nudge

Unfortunately @localola had started a new job just as she had won the contest, it all was a bit too much so she had to cancel the coop to put the focus where it was needed.

And in the meantime I had concluded that the other finalists deserved their own spotlight. Giving @steemkitten the design @zneeke made would have seriously risked a schizophrenic personality disorder developing in the poor kitten.

So yeah, @cuddlekitten was cloned from @steemkitten's DNA and has since assumed living under @zneeke's given character.

@steemkitten was heartbroken and went silent for a while after @localola left her with only 6 expressions (luckily one of them was a sad one! :P). She started talking again after a week of grieving, though. She's still a bit traumatized and has started expressing herself only through some unexciting ASCII-cats. I am not sure what will happen with her in the future, but she'll always continue cuddling!

Oh and... psssst... you might even see @zeppelin's entry reappear and starting to pass out cuddles in the coming weeks, too ;)

Una pregunta, hay que hacer un dibujo por cada personaje?

umm... you should ask @w0olf, he's running the show here ;)

One question, is it necessary to draw a picture for each character?

One question, is it necessary to draw a picture for each character?

Nope it's not necessary :) You can even just make 1 character. How ever you like!

 6 years ago  Reveal Comment