My Experience with DeSo

in #deso2 years ago

I heard about $DeSo through a friend. One of the few friends of mine who is also into crypto posted about the $DeSo Dapp called Diamond, which is a Twitter-like social media site that allows users to monetize their social media usage.

Each user has their own Creator Coin that can be invested in by their followers and it goes up in value based on how many are invested. It's a decent way of gauging success in pleasing your followers. My Creator Coin is currently sitting at a modest $12.10, which I think is pretty good for only a month of using the service.

In the month that I have been a part of this community, I have met several people, a couple of whom I now call my friends. Many have found me from the hybrid-AI art I mint as NFTs through $DeSo, via another Dapp called NFTz.

The NFT ecosystem of $DeSo is also quite an interesting thing. It seems there are various ways of accessing the NFTs, but NFTz is where I have found myself mostly just doing the actual minting, I usually see bids on them in Diamond, and if I want to show it to someone off-site, I send the Polygram link which is a very sleek site that shows the NFTs and I believe allows bidding, but I haven't found a way to mint through it.

But as I said, most people on $DeSo have found me from my NFT art, which ended up being popular enough to get me interviewed for their Creator Spotlight run by Diamond user @MrTrip1et which was a fun experience. You can see the full interview here:

Overall, I feel that $DeSo has a lot of potential to blow up in the decentralized social media realm, but they're not quite there yet. There's a steady user base, but it's by no means large. The apps themselves along with the amount of them you need to use makes the experience a bit too clunky for it to catch on with casual users, so I hope they are able to find a way to streamline the experience in order to gain a much larger user base from the casual crowd.

Some referral links to help me pay the bills and hopefully help you out as well:

Join Coinbase (get $5 of BTC): https://www.coinbase.com/join/qogv94

Join Abra (get $25 of CPRX): https://www.abra.com/ref/?deep_link_sub1=RCWSS71D1

Join Crypto.com (get $25 of CRO): Join Crypto.com - https://crypto.com/app/bzez4jvvsq

Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/CryptoByers