You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Stoicism, Hedonism and my view on these concepts

in #deutsch2 years ago

Mhh, I have always seen myself as some sort of holistic Hedonist. To me the answer to the meaning of live is simple: Fulfill all (as many as you can) the desires you have. And those desires can be complex or long undertakings, like an urge for fame or to change the world.

My actual behavior however is much more reflective of your classic degenerate Hedonist and I would like to change that.

Stoicism is something I have sympathy for since it often shows in dark humor and sarcasm (or do you see those things less connected than I do?). I am just not sure it is really for me personally since I like to obsess about problems, where I can't even implement the solution if I find one.

Sort:  

Yes, I think if one is a Stoic, one can easier laugh about dark things in life and tends to sarcasm.