You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: AI programming is creepy!

in #dev3 years ago

I feel that this is likely to make programming more efficient rather than obsolete. Once the third stage of AI's are here, it's another story. However, it seems like the current generation is predicting chunks of programming that are non-creative. That is, the programmer still comes up with the intent, the logic, and the algorithm while the AI does some of the more mundane tasks.

Once upon a time, there was a thriving industry of men called scriveners who were mainly hired by lawyers to copy documents out by hand and ensure that they were exact replicas. Now, we have photocopiers and printers. Where are the unhappy, out of work scriveners? Somehow, they found new occupations. I feel that the same will happen here when/if programmers are replaced by AI's. I think it will be a while, though. I base this on my interactions with the AI's we currently have such as text generation AI's. Some seem to think it is miraculous. I am less impressed.