[The Library Dev Blog] A New Project...

in #development7 years ago (edited)

Hey Library Readers, something new for today.

A Dev Blog!

Many of you know, I'm a computer scientist with a special interest in Threat Hunting/Intelligence. One of my biggest focuses is building connections between various actors and groups, and one of the most helpful ways to do this is by building Tree Maps. 



You've likely used these without even knowing it. It shows individual nodes usually represented by circles or boxes with lines drawn between them referred to as connections. This is a really important tool for intelligence analysts, investigators, or anybody else trying to figure out how this big wide world is interconnected.

The picture above is from the extremely popular investigative tool made by Palantir, and is widely used by government researchers and investigators. It's extremely feature rich and unbelievably powerful... and expensive. I want a stripped down version of Palantir for investigative purposes, primarily to use the mapping feature to visualize and document connections in a graphical interface.


A Tentative Name: Nodez

Nodez is going to be a stripped down, open source solution for OSINT investigators. There are free(ish) options on the web, but most are complicated and very slow. I want my solution to be feature rich yet usable, a use-out-of-the-box solution for investigators like myself who don't have government or big corporation funding for products like Palantir.


Leave comments below to request features or make recommendations. You can find the source code on my Github. Feel free to fork it, fine tune it, and make any changes you'd like.

Thanks so much for your constant support. More content is to come, I promise!


--------------------------------------

 Like the post? I run this threat intelligence blog on  Steemit    and offer the content free of charge. If you're a Steemit user,  you    know that upvoting, which you do for free, magically puts a couple     cents in my pocket. Maybe I'll buy a pack of gum with last week's     earnings, but it all depends on your help. Not a Steemit user? My     biggest metric of success is my viewership. If I don't make a cent  but    my content reaches a wide audience, that means my product is  valuable    and my efforts are worthwhile.  Therefore, give me a share on your social media of choice, follow me on Steemit for more threat intel posts, and follow me on Twitter to see stupid memes and get updates when I post.  


Sort:  

Greetings @odinthelibrarian,

In case you are not familiar with researcher and developer @rebelskum, I think you may be interested in his new project - DIN / DIN's Fire. Decentralized Investigative Network.

Here's a link to the description -

https://steemit.com/steemdev/@rebelskum/dinsfire-v0-2-1-a-declaration-of-independence-from-central-intelligence-superfast-steemit-feeds

That's an interesting project.