You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: PROPOSAL #164 - Hive Side Chain (HSC) Development Funding. Creating A Ethereum Virtual Machine Side Chain Enabling Decentralized Industry Standard Smart Contract Functionality on HIVE, Utilizing HIVE as the Gas / Base Token.

in #dhf3 years ago

There's no use for this with Optimistic Ethereum releasing in a week or two, followed by Arbitrum in Q2. No one's going to use some random side chain when you can get dirt cheap gas on an Ethereum rollup. Hive is a failing project that has fallen from #3 to #250 and should accept and consolidate itself its niche instead of having delusions of grandeur of top 10. It will never happen, and wasting any more time on reckless fantasies will lead to this project collapsing out of the top 1000.

Sort:  

"There's no use for this"

"Hive is a failing project that has fallen from #3 to #250"

"zOMg teh sKy R FalLeN"

You betting on SMTs or some blogging modification to make people flock to HIVE? lol, cmon.

ETH 2.0 is still going to be expensive as fuck assuming it remains to gain popularity, Binance is still going to be a centralized bullshit chain running effectively on one box for all we know and never heard of Arbitrum so will have to look that one up, thanks for the lead. :D

To be 100% honest with you I wish I could see everything with such pessimism, but in all honesty if you don't think adding this sort of functionality to the chain isn't going to drastically improve demand, attract more users and make it far more competitive amongst other blockchains then I don't know what to tell you.. The recipe is basically perfect for making HIVE more valuable and evolving beyond the niche blogging thing it's known for.

Best case scenario I can tag you in this post a year from now and make you eat your hat.
Worst case scenario HIVE ends up with the ability to run properly decentralized smart contracts.

Don't take me as having a bit of fun with this as me not appreciating your take on the whole thing. I don't expect you to support something that you think is pointless, but at the end of the day I think this side chain once seamlessly integrated into HIVE will create an incredible amount of opportunity here.

The use for this already exists. I personally need this to decentralize my lending contracts. That is enough motivation for me. Opening the sidechain up to the whole crypto community is just a sweet bonus.

Best case scenario I can tag you in this post a year from now and make you eat your hat.

I feel like I've been told this a thousand times by multiple people in 2016, 17, 18, 19, 20 and now 21. Whatever, you can continue ignoring me, I know I've done my bit to push Steem and Hive towards a sustainable direction*. Meanwhile, I'll do my cheap, decentralized smart contract transactions on Optimistic Ethereum and other rollups. If you don't know what Optimistic Ethereum or Arbitrum is, it just shows you simply haven't done your basic research.

*PS: And no, this does not involve "SMT or blogging modification to make people flock to Hive". That ship has long sailed.

There is a huge difference in how this all works for me as a developer in comparison to you the consumer when it comes being able to keep up with all the crazy shit going on within a network I don't really care for beyond the technology it's based off of. No one is going to put a gun to your head and insist on using the Hive virtual machine over whatever is currently making eth maxis froth.

I like the tech, not a fan of the governance and skeevy HYIP DeFi shit that comes with it but it has more positives than drawbacks to have the functionality.