You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: PROPOSAL #164 - Hive Side Chain (HSC) Development Funding. Creating A Ethereum Virtual Machine Side Chain Enabling Decentralized Industry Standard Smart Contract Functionality on HIVE, Utilizing HIVE as the Gas / Base Token.

in #dhf3 years ago (edited)

Personally, I doubt I'll have any use for this. I'm supporting it only because it's a project offering a product tied directly to the HIVE token itself rather than being another scheme designed to extract existing value from one place on chain, just so it can sit somewhere else on chain, under a new name.

Offering the consumer a better deal than the competition does tend to attract interest but this is hardly innovative and people tend to be loyal to their brand. As that's happening, the brand is making adjustments to better suit the needs of their customers, in order to keep them. Don't think for one second the better deal offered here wouldn't be instantly countered elsewhere.

Fees are high elsewhere. Yes. One question. If HIVE 'moons', does that not mean the cost per transaction here 'moons' as well? The small powerup required to get the ball rolling here today only costs a few bucks. If this project is a 'success' and does end up creating solid demand for HIVE, won't it then create the problem it set out to solve?

Sort:  

Appreciate the support even though it's not something you're keen on utilizing. <3

I agree with you on the price battle / competition point. There are a number of metrics beyond just price point to keep in mind such as decentralization model, transaction bandwidth, interchain transfer capabilities, etc etc etc. It is in some sense as you mention not very innovative but still a worthy upgrade of chain functionality imho.

The way fees are set up out of the box on the ethereum implementations is a huge amount of variables. The plan is to shift these variables from being set on compilation of the app to being an integer the block producers of the network can vote upon, similar like how it is here. By implementing gas fees that can be adjusted by the community we avoid a lot of the price moon issues you speak of.

Can't be competitive if you don't compete. Gotta keep up with the Joneses...

I lose more and more interest as things become more and more about the things I'm not interested in, but that's just me, and my name is Nobody Special. I do see demand both internally and externally for services like what you intend to provide. You claim the planned approach outlined here shall benefit those both directly and indirectly involved. Many projects on Hive can't really say that even though it is mentioned within their echo chambers several times per day. When you're on the outside, everything inside sounds muffled.

I look forward to seeing results. Good luck, dude.

I certainly long for the luxury of not having to obsess over things down to the smallest detail or trying to cover ever fringe event or what have you in the digital realm as I do currently.. It would really be nice for my browse tabs not to do this:

image.png

I could probably stand to benefit greatly by bookmamrking some of this or grabbing the links for the build bible

" When you're on the outside, everything inside sounds muffled."

I don't know what this means exactly but resonates with me man.
Highly appreciate the support.

The chaos in those tabs reminds me of my digital art WIP folder, but only when you add a few hundred more images. I'll get around to it.

Worst part is most of those are actually information that I was digesting.. XD

Perk of the internet and modern computers I guess? Can have a butt ton of knowledge in front of you.