You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My take on the increased HBD price and it's impact for proposals

in #dhf3 years ago

When hbd dips below 1$ I spend less time on it, when hbd rises above a dollar I spend more time on it proportionate to how much it rises. And this is what I've been doing for the past month.

This is the "correct" thing to do, in my opinion. Each proposal is just a small business really, they have funding, resources, and goals to achieve. When a small business receives additional funding they don't start thinking of how best to return it, they use it and they grow.

The fact that there is so much discussion and work around how best to return extra funds means that most people are thinking about this the wrong way (again, in my opinion). If funding increases and you have a proposal to do development work - use it to get more development work done. If you have a proposal to do marketing - do more marketing.

One of the most important jobs of the CEO of a business is capital allocation. Hive doesn't have a CEO, so we have to all work together to allocate the capital available in the DHF in the best possible manner to grow the platform, and returning it to sit in the fund unused doesn't seem like the best way to do that to me.

Sort:  

and returning it to sit in the fund unused doesn't seem like the best way to do that to me.

I would agree with you if that were true. But they're not "unused" they are doubling their value every day! (with HBD at $2)

In case you have not checked, the return proposal is receiving 0 because @hbdstabilizer is selling all HBD for hive.

However, I think each person with a proposal should decide what to do with the funds and every voter has the right to keep or remove his vote. There is no right or wrong here, just preferences.

This is the "correct" thing to do, in my opinion

Thanks !

they use it and they grow.

Exactly, as my old boss told me when I asked him why we were spending so much and raising capital every year instead of having a longer runway "we don't want to leave any growth on the table, so we spend as much as possible to gain as much growth as possible"

funding increases and you have a proposal to do development work - use it to get more development work done

The only caveat to this is some proposals don't adapt well to increased funding like hivesql who's purely infra costs (which don't adapt well to a 2x increase) and then there are people who may just not want to produce more work which is totally understandable imo.

, and returning it to sit in the fund unused doesn't seem like the best way to do that to me.

To be fair it's not exactly "returning it" it's sending it to hbdstabilizer which makes a direct profit for the dhf. Which as some stakeholders argue, brings more value than any proposal. Because it's much more straightforward (double the value that you get from the dhf)