Pasta it again, Sam...

in #diary2 years ago

IMG_20220915_060940_427.jpg

I don't know how it's happened, but Wednesday is generally pasta night. I love pasta and, somehow, I manage to limit it to once a week. Given half a chance, we'd have it more often. But then, that's just me. Last night was no different. What was different was that it was not vegetarian. Rather, I had some braaied pork neck left over from Saturday and which I turned into a ragut with some mushrooms. Oh, and because the ducks are laying, I made it with a gloriously golden egg - just delivered that morning.

IMG_20220915_060940_631.jpg

The sage is springing, which plays well with all the flavours. I'd have liked a little more, but that would have stripped the shrub that's only just recovering from its winter malaise.

The salad was my usual base of leaves, tomato and cucumber, and with broadbeans and beetroot.

IMG_20220915_060940_592.jpg

We'd both had long days. We both not only needed a good supper, but I really needed my kitchen playtime.

Until next time, be well
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa


Photo: Selma
Post script

If this post might seem familiar, it's because I'm doing two things:

  • re-vamping old recipes. As I do this, I am adding them in a file format that you can download and print. If you download recipes, buy me a coffee. Or better yet, a glass of wine....?
  • and "re-capturing" nearly two years' worth of posts.
I blog to the Hive blockchain using a number of decentralised appplications.
  • From Wordpress, I use the Exxp Wordpress plugin. If this rocks your socks, click here or on on the image below to sign up.


Original artwork: @artywink
  • lastly, graphics are created using partly my own photographs, images available freely available on @hive.blog and Canva.
Sort:  

Hi @fionasfavourites! How are you doing? Do you perhaps have a list of all the South Africans on the platform? A new South African community opened and they are searching for all South Africans to join. Perhaps you can help out.

Good, thanks and you? No, I don't have a list (other than an incomplete one in my head) and I am working with @zakludick on this 🙂

Nice dish! We have pasta once a week as well (though sometimes twice maybe).

I also love using braai leftovers in the next day's cooking! Awesome 🙌