A Non-smoker's Diary Entry #2

in #diary6 years ago

Cold Turkey

the abrupt cessation of a substance dependence and the resulting unpleasant experience, as opposed to gradually easing the process through reduction over time or by using replacement medication.

Most past smokers that I know recommend the cold turkey approach. It has a better success rate than slowing down tobacco intake. They say that it only takes two weeks before your cravings will stop. But during the beginning is the hardest. Some recommended I switch to vaping, but I think that's more expensive than smoking. One of the factors that I decide to stop smoking is to have more saved money, and that option will make no sense at all.

The first week was quite unsuccessful. Still slipping, everyday I try to stop myself on buying cigarettes. During the beginning of the week though, I noticed that my expenses in cigarettes are cut in half. I spend 5 minutes every day searching the internet on how to successfully quit smoking.

Alcohol vs. Cigarettes

Everytime I do nothing, I look for it. Much more than any other substance that I have tried. I've stopped being a drunkard for more than a year now. True, I drink occasionally, but never have been drunk ever since. I knew how to control my alcohol intake and stop when I feel the effects. How I wish stopping smoking was as easy as how I stopped being a drunkard. I need to endure it for two weeks. Thinking of how to do things, I felt that during these desperate times I need to have desperate measures.

Keeping a low budget

I have recieved a month's paycheck last Monday. To keep my budget low, I loaded most of it in crypto. I bought some SBD in the process, and the others went to exchanges and some crypto index funds. I noticed that even if I leave it in the bank, I will find ways to get it, even during the dawn just to buy some.

I have also ordered a Raspberry pi this week. I'll move to another hobby that'll make me busy. I want to experiment on staking some cheap alts, or run a bitcoin node, experiment with the lightning network and learn more about crypto. I think that will make my mind more busy these weeks researching on how to do it. Specially that the classes are over, and I will have tons of free time after I pass my grades. The first semesters starts in the middle of June, so I won't have much to do.

Switching to tea

Rescheduling every thing I regularly do everyday is also an option. There are specific times of the days where my craving are severe; I guess I have to stop being a night owl and live again during the day. The loneliness of the night adds up to the urge on lighting up one. I have noticed that my cravings have catalysts, like after I eat, or everytime I make a cup of coffee - so caffeine is also out of my diet. I'm a tea-guy now. More green, leafy vegetables and plenty of water. I guess that'll bring back my sense of taste. 10 years I have a cigarette on my mouth, so I figured it won't be easy and this is the least that I could do.

Being my own bank

I have skimmed through my old belongings, and found an old tin bank lying around. Could be another hobby of saving all my change that I usually spend on my addiction so I could buy myself something decent in the future. I have been dreaming of owning a mining rig, just for a hobby. Or a gaming rig that I could spend more time to. That time comes, I'll start streaming on dlive atleast once a week. I believe I could afford these things once I cut off this cancer in my system. I already have burdened my body on working so hard everyday, and kept neglecting my health for the most of my days. Its really due for a change in habits.

These are still plans and are worth nothing until it's done. But I still am proud that slowly, I'm making progress.


Interested in trading and haven't traded yet? Try Binance. They trade STEEM too!
You can buy some altcoins not listed on Binance at Kucoin!(Please always check the url and don't get phished!)
Feeling ballsy and wanna do leverage? BitMEX allows up to 100x! Don't get burned though, or else the bot will quote your order.


Disclaimer: Trading includes financial risks. Risk what you can only afford to lose. Cryptocurrencies are speculative and unregulated markets and risks are invovled in trading cryptocurrencies.