Day 4 Trying Veganism - I Love Me Some Guacamole Bean Dip And Triscuits

in #diet7 years ago

So, about a week ago, my girlfriend brought up the movie 'What The Health' (find it on Netflix) and I didn't watch it yet with her, but apparently there is a lot of compelling evidence as to the health benefits one can see from adhering to a Vegan Diet. Now, I've done some reading in the past on the benefits of going vegan, not to mention that Scott Pilgrim (the movie with Mike Cera) makes a compelling case that Vegans get superpowers granted to them based on their diet (note, photo above is a joke, for those who have the tendency to get hurt in the butt). Some of the benefits that can be seen include:

Lower Risk For Cardiovascular Disease:
Vegans, on average, are thinner, have lower total and LDL cholesterol, and modestly lower blood pressure, three things that are linked to the occurrence of Cardiovascular disease. Vegans are lower in these levels than omnivores and EVEN lactoovovegetarians.

Lower Risk For Cancer:
A study showed that colorectal and prostate cancer rates were substantially higher for non-vegans. A few factors could be at play, one being the cancer-fighting nutrients in the fruit/vegetable/legume-based diet, and another being the fact that Vegans, on average, have a lower BMI, Obesity, again, being highly linked to cancers in certain areas.

Bone Health (read for caveat):
Vegan diets are rich in the majority of nutrients that support bone health, lacking only in Vitamin D and Calcium on average, so Vegans that take a Vitamin D and Calcium supplement, can see better bone health than average omnivores that take just those as well, due to the fact that Vegans, on average, tend to consume more fruits, vegetables, and legumes, which contain important nutrients for bone health other than D and Calcium.

Her and I decided to go Vegan for 2 weeks, mostly to see how it goes. That being said, we know that going Vegan for 2 weeks won't achieve the health benefits above. However, additional reported things for Vegans (as soon as a few days into when you start), include increased energy, reduced bloating, better digestion, better sleep, and a more stable mood. Our goal is to see if these things occur and, more than anything, I just want to help her stick with it by doing it too. That way she won't see delicious chinese food, taco bell, burgers, italian subs, pizza, etc. that will try to make her quit the diet.

For us it isn't much of an animal cruelty thing (although seeing how beef is made absolutely disgusts me, but I'm in denial when I eat it generally), even though I despise animal cruelty. I generally only want to be vegan because of that cruelty for about a few days after seeing those sad infomercials or documentaries, but then the disconnect reemerges and I feel like eating meat again. The problem is I've grown up having that disconnect and I always saw beef as food and a cow as a pet; logically, they're the same thing, but something about them doesn't feel the same for me when I see an all-beef patty, special sauce, lettuce, cheese, and a pickle on a sesame seed bun. That being said, hopefully we get the health benefits that people claim they get when being Vegan.

On day 4, I'm feeling strong (and have convinced myself that I've already lost body fat, whether that is just my imagination or not), and sticking to it. The cool thing too is that I'm discovering all these new foods that are my 'preferred' vegan choices, like Guacamole Bean Dip and Triscuits, Grapes of course, and some other delicious vegan things! After 2 weeks, I'll give you all an update on how I feel (maybe I'll give a week-in update too) and how it is going (and if I failed... I don't think I will this time though, since I'm doing it to support my gf). WISH ME LUCK!!

Scientific Study Data Found At: http://ajcn.nutrition.org/content/89/5/1627S.full (which sites numerous scientific studies)

AS ALWAYS, WISHES OF WEALTH AND HEALTH FOR ALL! :)

Sort:  

Great post, thanks for sharing! I gave you a vote. I hope you enjoy it.

Thanks! :)

Beware thise vegan police they will strip your powers :)

haha true true

i love that movie

What the Health is a good documentary, but i don't believe it's the best for veganism. To me it's more about the corruptness of big food companies and the government health research.

ah, gotchya gotchya! any recommendations? :)

Cowspiracy, Vegucated, & Forks Over Knives to start.

Thanks! I'll have to check them out! :)

Best of luck, and stay strong. If or when your feeling tempted, try to imagine the poor animal, and give it a name, its harder to hurt something if we name it.

I appreciate the great tip! That's definitely going to help! :)

Beep beep. Hi @biddle!
You have used **tip!** in your comment - that`s my magic word for sending tips ;)
Click here if you wish to learn more!

keep it up vegan way :-)

I'll try! Thanks for the positivity! :)

Very strong will! I would have given up on the third day. Waiting for your report. Hope you'll stick with it all the way. Cheers.

Thanks for the motivational words! :)

Keep it up. Dont give up this time. Lol. Ive been gluten free for ten years. Ive sacrificed so much when it comes to food. You really will feel better as you detox. @biddle

haha I'll try not to! I think it's probably a lot easier than the grape diet though! lol

Haha... for sure.

Or as Michael Pollan has written, don't eat too much, mostly plants. :P We do eat too much meat in most parts of the world now. But that doesn't mean we should never eat meat again. The only culture to sustain pure vegan eating was in South India I believe. And they eat many things (including dairy products like yogurt) which are not in a Western vegan diet. Perhaps we can rest on moderate meat eating. As a lover of all things food, that's my opinion. Thanks for posting. :)

I love great input like this! I think lactoovo is especially something to consider for those who are already vegan and I think there are definitely benefits to eating meat and it probably comes down to what specifically you value in making your decision! :)

Thank you, @biddle, it's a great post. I love the middle ground in this type of subject. Good for healthy debate.

Definitely! :)

Thanks... i like it

Best of luck with that! I'm thinking of going vegetarian but not all the way to vegan. Thanks for the follow!

Thanks for the wishes of luck! :) Good luck to you on trying vegetarian and you're very welcome for the follow! :)

My cousin just told me about this movie and said how convincing it was. Says a lot for a steak lover like him! I was a strict vegetarian for 16 years. Keep it up!!!!!

Wow, that's impressive! Thanks for the motivation!

Good Luck @biddle, you are on the good way! ;) More than a state of mind, it is a real way of life . . . I can speak about it: veg for decades, I eat totaly organic food to be coherent, most of the time, fruits and vegetables (not boiled if possible), and I also do fasting. And it is brilliant, I mean I couldn't eat any more food with sugar or salt. And physically, you feel far better. Howether, the drawback is that it is difficult to accept an invitation to dinner or to go out, as the number of organic (vegan) restaurants is not yet enough to have the choice. Anyway, welcome in the fourth dimension, the real one. Ah ah!

Thanks! :) That's definitely a motivational story! :)

You're welcome. By the way, I created a map of all the organic restaurants (many veg among them) worldwide:
https://www.google.com/maps/d/viewer?mid=1_L-PrwPlGdMC9THF-1BNuxfRF4s
Maybe it will help. Enjoy! ;)

That's WICKED AWESOME! I'm gonna make good use of that!

I know what movie on Netflix your gf is talking about! I watched it! And trust me I don't eat meat anymore haha

haha Yeah, I heard it is good!