๐Ÿƒ‹ Renji Abarai "Jack of Diamonds" - Digital Painting & Process

in #digitalart โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

renji_jackofdiamonds.png

"If you wanna talk to me, do it while I cut you to pieces. But, I'm not gonna hold back one bit! Bankai!"


As a perennial understudy to both Captain Byakuya Kuchiki of the 6th Shinigami Division and later to Ichigo, Abarai Renji eventually came into his own as one of the strongest characters in Bleach after confronting his fears and allowing his stubborn nature to be more accepting of help from others. A hot head in his younger days as Lieutenant of the 6th, he later tempered himself and managed to subdue his more primal sides. A disciplined martial artist, Renji calls upon the wild forces of his Zabimaru Bankai. Deeply protective of his friends, this Shinigami expert is a dangerous opponent in any situation.


  • This is a digital illustration of about 38 bitmap layers. Using my mouse and standard Photoshop brushes and layer blend modes. The cards and textures I got from FusRoDa and edited them to suit our needs. The flame footage I got from the wicked creative commons video repository Pexels - I also tried to preserve as many of the steps as possible for the process animation. I then made the animation in Premiere Pro CC, simplified it, sped it up, added inserts, rendered it as an mp4 video file and then converted it to an animated gif online (nifty!)



Category#FanArt
MediumPencils & Photoshop
SuitDiamonds
CharacterRenji Abarai
StyleDigital Illustration
Original ArtistsTite Kubo
First Apperance2006


"A man who raises his hands on a woman is trash. If I have to become trash in order to survive... It'll be just like dying."


Lore


Renji has brown eyes and long crimson hair, which is usually kept in a high ponytail. As a child, Renji's hairline was leveled. Later, he styled it in a large widow's-peak. His upper body is covered in tribal tattoos, which have increased over time, starting from his early days as an academy student to covering his entire back, much of his chest, his extremities, and even much of his forehead. He wears a standard Shinigami outfit, though he usually includes some sort of headgear, usually expensive glasses, or a white headband when he is saving up to purchase some new glasses. Despite being of appropriate rank, Renji does not wear his Division's lieutenant badge. While out of uniform, Renji often wears a white kimono-like type of night clothing, with pink floral patterns on it, and a dark grey sash tied around his waist. It has also been said "that the women within his Division do not mind that he usually walks around in his night clothing."



Process


Here's the animated process for Renji as the Jack of Diamonds that I made out of the individual layers. I reverse engineered the beginning stages of the drawing. I'm gonna have a look around for the original sketches, those are still knocking about somewhere. I'm also trying to make a unique transition at the end of each card. This time I used some extra plugins for Premiere from Boris Continuum to achieve some effects. Hope you dig it.

renji_animated.gif




Card number "9" takes us into the realm of Anime and Manga for the first time. Also sticking with the flame theme for the suit of diamonds methinks. I'd also like to draw your attention to the amazing cards and artworks the talented artists of Steemit have created for the โœ Sketch Off Contest - Edition 2: The Club of Antiheroes!

Bankai,

ZeroOoC

feline_bade.png

Sort: ย 
ย 6 years agoย (edited)ย 

Whoa, is there a limit to your creativeness? And this deck of cards? Hihi :) And those animations at the end... Very cool!
I must say, I'm dying to see you on film. Do you think it can happen here on Steemit?
Love,
Klaudex

I'm happy you like it :)
Hopefully I can complete a full deck! While I do on the rare occasion show my face on stream and in a couple videos I've managed to maintain a fairly low profile ;). I think I'm pretty good on camera but I'm also rather shy and I like playing hard mode by just letting my work and writing to the talking. It's slower...but it's steady. Besides, you guys wouldn't want my hairy face plastered anywhere :P

Wiiii I love Renji!! He and Byakuya are my favourite Bleach characters ^_^
Haven't watched it I think since it ended, which means way too long! Thanks for reminding me again how awesome Bleach was <3

Senbonsakura Kageyoshi! Vibrant display of 1000 Cherry Blossoms!!
:)

Oh yes ^_^

Let's go! Great work mate! I have an idea for you, and it's called Berserk...

Hah! Since you are the third person to recommend it in a short amount of time...guess this has just moved up my watch list ;)

Thanks!

get your blood and gore glasses cleaned, you will need them! :D

fresh meat for the grinder

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 1.45% vote... I was summoned by @zeroooc! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh