Hacking and Phishing on the Dsicord

in #discord2 years ago
Authored by @Corbeaunoir

The rise of new interesting projects on the different chain increase also the number of scam that you can encounter.

It can be the project that is a complete scam or it can be hackers using the deifferent succesful project to earn your trust and phish your informations...

I am talking about that because today a strange story happened to me. I say "Strange" because I don't beleive yet that happened to me.
I was in the process of deleting all the spammer that DM me privately on my discord, after checking in a new P2earn channel Famersworld... 'It was new for me..)

Few times later and 2 cup of coffe, I was contacted by a guy with the logo of farmerworld and start chatting with me... at the begining everything seems normal the guy is cool and ask me if I play Farmerworlds what I answer no and I was just checking in in the Discord Channel to screen the project.
Then he serve me a pitch about a scholarship( Like the one in Axie)... The line was clear and really plausible...
Not seeing the danger of the beautiful Carnivorous flower and seeing already all the dollars without investing that I can make... and ingnoring consciously all the red flags that popped in my mind screaming "SCAM SCAM SCAM"..... and then as the stupidness of the Bee jumping on the honey pot witouth seing the giant jaws close on her.. I dont just click on the link provided I dowloded ot and execute it....

Result less than 30 min after I received a mail on my computer that someone try to change my password... I jumped on the computer and logout all my account from all the devices... Too late all my Wax account empty.
Not to say I am in the process of reformating and reinstalling everything with complete new passwords....
But I have to thanks thiese guys because

  1. I forget all the security rules and I am not pride of myself
  2. It make me think that i should start my journey in cybersecurity..

Conclusion

Be very careful with all these projects at the moment because it's like a Wonderland for scammers and hackers.
I know the security rules but it doesnt exmpt me to fall into trap...
Make your due diligence don't dowload something from a newcomer that you don't know.
Always Double check the information you get from someone... and don't be lazy like I was.

Play well and Stay safe

Corbeaunoir

Sort:  
Loading...

Fuck sorry that happened man!! now you can start your journey on hive aswell!

Consider making an Intro post so that we can all get to know you.

some things that I am always interested in knowing is..

How or when did you first get into crypto?

How or when did you first hear about hive?

Not to be intrusive, but.. How old are you? where are you from?

[Its commonly encouraged that folks make their posts a bit longer than the bare minimum, and to put a bit of flavor and love into their content because the idea is for others to be able to show their appreciation and engage with you, and upvote and assign value to it, so really want to do you best, and take a little time to make this stuff shine!

^^ Those questions I asked ^^

Are the things you should write in your #introduceyourself post. You should consider making one.

You should stop by "The Terminal" discord channel if you have any questions, or need any help getting started. https://discord.gg/Hkj527WKad

Stop by this blog I wrote and checkout this list of helpful links I put together for new folks like you! https://peakd.com/pob/@unorgmilitia/helpful-hive-links