You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Quick Money Grabbers Could Exploit The Beauty Of Blockchain For Musicians

in #discussion6 years ago

Is this a widespread problem? Do creators often discover their original content used by unauthorised people? But perhaps most importantly, what can I do if this were to happen to me?

Sort:  

Hey thanks for the support! Yeah it definitely is unfortunately. Currently I am seeing that the problem is largest for big name labels. Songs are being reuploaded, unrightently used in videos. However, I can imagine and have also seen examples of songs from smaller artists are reuploaded. Even under different names (which is the scariest in my opinion).
As to what you can do about it, you can flag the uploads. The difficulty is, especially with smaller name artists, actually finding the reuploads. At the current moment there is not much you can do to easily find these reuploads but I will be on the case as soon as I find one!

Thanks for raising your voice about this issue. For musicians there is rarely something more scary than when someone steals a track and republishes it as their own. :/