Raise your right hand, the painful truth

in #discussion6 years ago

Some time ago I decided to join the military. It was a good choice at a very young and early stage of my life. I made this leap when i was 18 years old. Now a days people will say that is just the age of a child. Well now a days that seems to be the actual reality. Things were different in my time. My time. Not even that long ago.

When I signed the dotted line I agreed to give 5 years of my life to this country and to the American people. I chose to do the bigger and greater thing because lets have it no one else will. Don't believe me? Look at the American population compared to the Military numbers. Point proven. I made the choice to do this because I wanted to make a difference not only for America but for were ever I was conducting my duties. I loved it. I loved it so much that I reenlisted for another 3 years, totaling 8 years of service.

I joined the Army because I wanted to serve my country and do the right thing. When I made that choice I believed that most of America had the same thoughts. Boy was I wrong. I cant believe what the American population has became. It very disappointing at the least. Men have become little bitches, you cant even really call a male a man anymore.

I have now been out of the Army for two years. I struggle in civilian life every day. Not financially or by being ill. I struggle because I realized that the general American population does not give a shit about the Military or the people that have give their lives to the greater good. The population is selfish and self driven for ones self. No one cares for others or assist in much unless it benefits themselves.

Seeing this kind of behavior on a daily basis makes me think. Why did you serve? Why did you go though so much pain for and ungrateful nation? Why did you give up the best years of your life for a nation that has no thanks and just kills itself off? Why did you lose/give up everything while serving? That's right I lost it all. I lost my family that I started. I lost my family and friends that I had growing up. I returned to civilian life with less then I had when I stood up for my country. I had to start all over.

Everyone that serves gives up something. We may be lucky enough to come home alive and breathing but is that really the better of the two options? I feel for my brothers and sisters that did not return home but in one way or another was it a blessing? Would they have been satisfied with how the country was after what they gave? I really don't know. What I do know is i have lost my battle buddies. They have fallen while away from home and some have fallen while back at home because they cant take what they have been through.

We sacrifice it all so you can have the life you were promised by the American dream.