Discussion: Why do you eat meat?

in #discussion8 years ago

Most posts here are written in a way best for sharing information, not to get people talking. So, I suggest we begin using the discussion tag to have debates and socialize. Sounds fun?

Meat eaters, how do you eat meat without guilt? How do you ignore the fact that you are making living creatures suffer for your own pleasure? It's no secret that slaughterhouses aren't usually nice places and that the animals inside don't die quick painless deaths. And doesn't it gross you out that sausage casings are made from intestinal lining, or in other words animal buttholes?

Pictured below are a steak and its veal offspring:

I'm a meat eater myself. I do it because I believe we live in an unfair world and it is impossible to completely get rid of cruelty. Even in the wild, animals kill each other all the time. The way I see it, no matter what I do, animals will suffer. So I might as well try to enjoy it.

Sort:  

I've never been comfortable with it and never will. Luckily I don't eat it much anymore. All life is precious and valuable. Having pets makes it even more apparent how similar animals (mammals particularly) are to us.

Animals really aren't that different from us, I agree!

So long as you don't waste the life in vain, I think it's fair to enjoy meat.

Trophy hunting is retarded.

How do you define wasting a life, though? Is it unethical to kill an animal for food but then choose not to eat it? Must we always finish our plates?

I guess the definition is a blurry one. There are certain restaurants that charge extra if you order things and don't finish them. I think its respectful to only order or get what you will actually use, in broad terms.

I upvote U