You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Massachusetts: Massive confiscation of private property

in #discussion6 years ago

I'm not 100% on that count. I know that there were many instances of people deciding to go live with the indians rather than live under british rule.

I'm not sure whether that continued to happen after the american revolutions but I'd suspect that it did happen here and there... at least until the last tribes were rounded up and slaughtered and/or "reserved".

My note on holding agreements was related to all of the treaties that were made with the indians and invariably violated by the those holding power soon afterwards.

I've considered going to live amongst the indians where I grew up as I qualify for tribal membership (just barely). Unfortunately those near where I grew up are starting to look more like our forms of government every year.

Sort:  

back in the day I met a 'tribal member' when I was trucking.
He said that he'd rather drive a truck than live on the rez.
odd that?