Will you vote for me? Yes or No?

in #discussion6 years ago


When we post aren't we all asking for a vote?  Oh, I know some of you just love to write.  Some of you have a message to spread.  Some of you might be willing to admit the financial aspect of this experiment is at least part of the reason you are here.  I admit it.In our culture begging is frowned upon, so sometimes we come up with interesting ways to pretend we are performing a service or providing a product.  Straight up asking for a vote, a follow and a resteem is bad.  Throwing some meaningless content into post and hoping for votes is acceptable.  I don't mean to poke you in the ego, I'm just saying there is a lot already out there to read on the Internet.   Our posts are a way of presenting ourselves for the votes...  The votes are the way to distribute the Steem.  Steem is the asset we are speculating on.   It doesn't make very good marketing though. 

Come to SteemIt, where we distribute Steem in hopes at some point it will hold great value.

Isn't that exactly what we are doing?  Yes or No...  Please answer in the comments.*it was just meant to be thought provoking, why are you really here?#madeyouthink 

@whatsup

this is a rerun

Sort:  

@whatsup,
If STEEMIT as same as FACEBOOK, I will never be here! I won't pay for people like Zuckerberg for my creations! So Yes, I came here to get a small % from the daily STEEM distribution!

Cheers~

Hi @whatsup! We are @steem-ua, a new Steem dApp, computing UserAuthority for all accounts on Steem. We are currently in test modus upvoting quality contributions with a high UA value (UA_author + UA_post)!Your UA_post value is 0.669.

Yep, I post music videos and either you like them or you don't so I have nothing to add except maybe one thing; you made the perfect argument for the use of bots to increase visibility. I dislike having to use resteem bots after spending 2 days on making a video :/

Ouch, you poked me in the ego

I just came for the cash

I actually really do love this place

If Steem wants to be some exclusive writers club then they should advertise it as such, one shoe doesn't fit all, everyone's contribution should be welcome to help grow the platform, their rewards will adjust accordingly. Stop sweating the small stuff that some starving person in a third will country will beg for a upvote so they eat today there's much bigger fish doing a lot more wrong then that on here. Also I'd say that everyone should be recognized and rewarded according to their intellectual ability, just because someone may have a learning disability doesn't mean they should get shot down getting it their all.

For me is about the ability to be engaging, not if you used commas correctly

This, it's about engaging, a blockchain that distributes coins based on targeted interaction. It creates a model of stimuli where people want to stay active to earn as much as they can. It generated a no-begging culture for obvious reasons, it's unpleasant, but the purpose doesn't change, only the approach.

I didn't say people have to contribute just a understanding that people who are hungry will do anything to eat. I understand it's not the intended purpose of the platform but I am not going to flag someone for that.

I'm not criticising you. In fact, I'm understanding about that. People need money. I need money. My only income is Steem and I have no shame in saying that my main reason to be here is because I want to eat three times a day and have clothes, whereas if I weren't here, I wouldn't be able to do these things as easily.

But it's not like I'm desperate or that I'm begging. That's what I meant by "a different approach". Steem is not a platform where you earn by begging. It's a platform based on interaction. You earn by being a positive member of the community. Creating content, posting comments, networking. It's like social lego. It's cute and profitable.

So yeah, don't flag people for wanting money. :) Tummies need nutrients.

I don't upvote them, there's way to many for one thing and one has to admit it may be to hard to decipher the one's who are starving starving from those who are just begging. There's been a couple two, three people though I try and always click and upvote because I know they really need the money, not that my vote is much if anything, but it makes me feel better, the difference with them is they really try hard to earn it. I've noticed they have just blossomed on here with their talents, doing much better then myself even but that doesn't keep me from looking at their stuff when I see it.

I think that's a good way to look at it, we each seek out that which interest us, sometimes I like checking out those who are less serious and I know I will get a good laugh, others for how they will inspire, or intellectually stimulate my thoughts. When I first came on here there was a guy who wrote good stuff he just wasn't that great with paragraphs, comma's etc., but if you went slow it was a good read. I don't see him around anymore, I think he gave up. I think that's important when people try, my son had what they said was a unspecified learning disability, you could sit and do his spelling words and he'd have them down pat but by morning he'd forget them all, I use to tell him that it's better to try then not try. That's why if I see someone really trying their hardest at the least I could do is give them some consideration to look at it, if it's good it should be rewarded with something.

I gave you a vote and a resteem as a sign of agreement.

I mean.

Technically, every post on the platform could just be stripped down to "Please vote for me". That's what it is. And admitting it is okay.

Few do, though.

There is no doubt in my mind that If I wasn’t a part of two great communities that I would be gone already. But @ssg-community and @thealliance are fantastic. Wish that I had more time to read all of the great posts.

I just want to put some positive stuff out there. If it works, great. If it doesn't, no problem.

First: I find amazing the idea of being rewarded by the content you create on which someone else find it worthy enough to give you an upvote...
Second: Steem is the best use-case blockchain
Third: it is totally undervalued

Steem on

1, 2, 3, I agree.

I thought this was a crypto dating site... have I been doing it wrong?

I'm not sure... How many dates have you gotten? :)

I think it's better if I leave that question open to speculation... :D

where my nerds at

I thought this was a
Crypto dating site... have I
Been doing it wrong?

                 - clayboyn


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

I thought that's what's supposed to happen, i vote. Just hoping it gets better on here soon.

yes, maybe just yes without a further reason behind it, no pity emotion about it's simply a yes. lol

Posted using Partiko Android

I love the honesty.

thank you because that's what i really feel, sorry

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm doing it for the upvote. but that will change with time (really?) because as we grow on this platform so will our needs. for now i just want to earn enough to get a better phone and power up. I can't achieve this if people dont upvote or respond to my comment or content. I dont think there is any one on this platform who would still be here if he was getting any attention.

in the long term i want this to be a source of income for me. As a creative writer it will allow me the freedom to operate and share my content with fear of censorship. As much as I am given i hope to give back as well.

I made 95 posts that didn't earn a thing. They were not in a row. It takes time and decent content to build an audience. It is money, so it isn't super easy to earn it.

yes, I know that, that's why im in no rush. im taking my time to engage. and you know, sometimes, the people you know are more important than what you have. so steemit is still also about building relationships

by the way, 95 post withouy earning anything?! you are really strong and dedicated. some of us would have started doubting our ability and depression would sink in

< insert meaningless content >

< hope for vote>

< check back in 1 hour>

1 hour... In the early days, I refreshed every few minutes. :)

like this...man... I am on this site way too much !!

non jokey answer - NO

I am here to have fun and learn about crypto ish..and happen to have faith in project to go up in value ...to have a ROI positive event in near future.

How great it would be to get paid for something you would do for free...
Hold on. That's exactly the reason why I am here. But is not the only reason, is a way to help, to value, and share what you love.

Agreed. I enjoy the site, but I also hope that Steem holds value at some point.

Of course!!! :)

As John Lennon said, "Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans."

I came for the money, but then I got interested in everything else. :)

I'm running for president, one of these days. Steemit is my reality show.

I am here to earn and learn. I have improved my art a lot being the part of steemit. Many grrat artists are here who really share a great content.

I vote, if i like, what i read. Most of the times you write interesting, and sometimes you dont.
We are mens, we have sh.t days, and sh.t posts, thats all. All of it are help to recognize the good stuffs, and appreciate the good days.

That sounds fair.

Im always try to see the real reality, not only of my premises, or opinions, or subconscious reactions what depend on my mood.
Its f.cking hard sometimes :D

Initially, I came for the easy money. Okay, that hasn’t exactly worked out. 😅

Stayed for the engagement and an incentive to write. Just last night, I wrote and posted a story about a pet dragon. If I wasn’t here, I’d never have written it, let alone posted it.

But I’ve come to think that this blockchain has immense potential and have sunk some hard-earned fiat into it.

The only real downside is that the site eats up time. I’m reading a lot less than I did before I signed up here.

I think you are right in your way of thinking but if a new member like me wrote a good content and no big whales is not reading there content because he has not good voting power and steem power too.he has to ask others pl vote for me so my post can be viral .I think there should be the duty of big whales to promote new members content in daily basis so they can also get appreciated.

Posted using Partiko Android

Better work on your English writing if you are expecting someone to consider your writing "good writing". I mean if you are going to communicate in English and expect to be paid... :)

Its great application.

I am your post@upvote@reasteemed

This post has received a 3.96 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @whatsup.

There is definitely truth in that and just directly saying "hey vote for me" would be a lot more efficient lol. We seem to like our rules and customs of etiquette though so people take that kind of directness as someone being rude or lazy and I think that generates the anger.

That being said, I try to put some effort into what I produce in the hope that someone will enjoy it and I try to upvote the people who seem to be saying something with their posts, so maybe there is more to the issue. Are we principled people using our upvotes in principled ways or are we peacocks being dazzled by each other's feathers? I don't have an answer to that question.

This is certainly an interesting way of framing things and not one I had considered but it can have an effect on the way we talk about "quality content." Is that really what we are after or is it the pretty colors? I don't know but I suppose it doesn't matter for me, I plan to keep putting the same amount of work into my post regardless of what the underlying drive is and I will keep upvoting the quality feathers too lol.

I do like writing on Steemit and spreading whatever info, opinions or fun memories that I have, but I do love getting upvotes also. It's the first thing that got me joining the platform. What can I say...I came for money and remained for technology :)

I came here to:

  • Get filthy rich (or at least enough to be free of the machines normal demands)

  • Interact with some like minded folks who can point my insatiable mind towards new information that interests me (while getting paid to acquire this new information...which brings us back to the first reason).

  • Become so wealthy here that I can become some semblance for others of what FTG is. One of the first posts I encountered here was from a man from Africa. He was thrilled because he was able to eat in a restaurant and get new shoes. He felt rich and he earned all that here. Then you encounter groups here who are helping others, and then before you know it you are handing out some of your earnings to charitable causes, and its okay if it slows you down on the first point because you know it will still happen, it will take longer, but you are making a difference and...

hahah somewhere we all want that upvote but until its not fun that makes no sense too