Magnificent Mechanical Memories - Steampunk Art Journal Page

in #distressoxideinks2 years ago


My, inspired by steampunk art journal page is a foray into the world of �makivity� (a word my son came up with at an early age to describe his cardboard creations). For steampunk is not just an aesthetic style but a whole culture around unique mechanical self built objects. The steampunk universe stretches over art, illustration, statues, sculptures, film, music, stories. [br][br]When I found my quote online:[br][br]

I’m Possible, not impossible

[br]for the first week of my next art journaling course I was reminded of the steampunk ethos. Rather than focus on the impossibility of the things we can�t do, think of ways we can make them possible. I give the example of flight; for humans it is impossible - unaided. But with the help of machines we can fly and this is where my thinking about possibility and steampunk came together. Why not a mysterious flying machine steampunk art journal page? Exactly I thought, so that�s what I did.[br][br]

Steampunk Art Ideas for this Spread

Some of the ideas I had relating to the theme include:[br][br]
  1. Embossed embellishments for a metallic steampunk look
  2. Moving parts hinting to mechanical nature of steampunk
  3. Distress oxides