You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why distribution is important

in #distribution5 years ago

Put it this way, to every sickness has its own cure. I've seen downvote bot, sells downvote service. In the end, investor pull back. For only one reason, downvote is not profitable. Upvote is. Hence it is sellable.

On another point of view, even whales category content creator have their own problem, as in how to distribute? I started #cn-malaysia initiative for one reason, nobody give a damn on Chinese content. Mainly for one reason, those are squarish characters nobody know WTF is that. So we have self sufficiently building up the Chinese community and have some good follower upvoting some outstanding articles to reward their author. Like spiderman daddy said, with greater power came bigger responsibilities. I'm seeing these Chinese curators go upvote their own posts, start upvoting their girlfriends instead of quality content.

Back to flag, lately one of our member got flagged for self upvoting. I gotta admit I felt joy for a few minutes as we have limited power to flag others because we need the same amount of vest to reward other authors instead. Now that I sit back and think, who are we to decide what people like to do with their own SP? That member is known to be annoying due to self upvote, but it's not like he doesn't upvote other people. With this getting flag ordeal, could probably send him off forever. Technically, there's not much different to anywhere around the world, but it will also means we in the local community has loss a potential 1000sp upvote.

No offense please. I don't find it a good idea to incentivizing down vote. We all know the very famous person who flag a technical analyst spammer. In the end, what wins? Simply because flagging isn't incentivised. Give it another try, a million SP and the game change to flag for incentives, frankly nobody will bother to upvote anymore. And I, will be sitting right here at @acidyo doorstep waiting for new post to flag. Sorry buddy, I like you, but I like incentives more. Everybody will be badcop regardless.

Ultimately, I still think mentality works. I'm still providing education to my fellow authors and supporting Chinese content creator via WeChat group, together with us is @ericet @honoru @wilhb81 and @softmetal . When we need help, we report to steemcleaners and let the "authority" take cares of it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Well said, I'm second to your comment here!

Posted using Partiko Android