Becoming an open water diver: First breaths underwater.

in #diving6 years ago (edited)

The road to becoming a diver is different for everyone, mine started when I was living in Bangkok being bored with life and longing for something more exciting.

GOPR0362.JPG

I was surfing the internet for something that might be interesting. I love outdoorsy activities and extreme sports has always been a passion. When I was younger my dream was to become a professional motocross rider but unfortunately that did not work out because it's an expensive sport. As I grew older I had to accept that motocross would not be my future, it was only a matter of time until I had to find something new to make life a bit more interesting.

This point came about 4 months ago when I was sitting in my apartment in Nonthaburi, Thailand. I was an online teacher back then and to be honest my life really sucked in terms of being bored and feeling like there is no purpose to life. Something had to change and it needed to happen quickly. While looking online I came across many exciting things but one thing stood out above the rest and that's how it all started.

I saw a YouTube video by PIDS and it immediately caught my attention. I was so excited I could hardly sleep that night. After some searching I booked my bus ticket with Lompraya High speed Catamaran and a week after that I was off to Koh Phangan to do an open water diving course.

21169224_10214277307515170_2053854493_o-2.jpg

I never admitted this to anybody that asked but I was shit scared when the time came for me to get in the ocean and actually go diving, but I'm getting ahead of myself so let's start at the beginning. I arrived on Koh Phangan, completely out of my comfort zone and at first I didn't really know what to do. When you get of the boat here you get bombarded by loads of local taxi drivers wanting to take you to where you want to be. I tried making my way out of the big crowd of people bargaining for taxi fares and found myself a motorcycle taxi driver that took me to my resort and gave me a short tour of the area I was living in. After I checked in at my resort he took me to PIDS where I spoke to the staff and booked my open water course.

The next day I had to be at the dive shop 8:00 am to meet my instructor and to get started on the theory part. Believe it or not but the theory was the most difficult part of it all, and it was quite easy. After the a few videos and exams we took a lunch break and headed for the pool to do some practical training. The pool is where I got a little nervous. My instructor's name was Gary and he actually still works at PIDS. He is a great instructor and he made me feel very relaxed and confident. I finished my pool activities, it took about 3 hours and we were done for the day.

29694362_2147190888639264_6714807204746041860_n.jpgSoph running through a buddy check with Jean!

When doing an open water course you learn to do something called a buddy check. I was introduced to many different phrases to remember all the checks for example: Bruce Willis Ruin All Films, Big White Rabbits Are Fluffy, etc. You get the point.

Check list:

B - BCD (Buoyancy Control Device)
W - Weights
R - Releases
A - Air
F - Final checks

These checks are very important and should be done every time before getting into the water. So after Gary and I did our checks we headed into the water, entering the water with something called the 'Giant Stride'.

Giant stride.jpg Giant Stride

When I jumped into the water I got really nervous and it hit me that I was actually about to go diving, it was a little overwhelming at first but then nervousness turned into excitement. We swam to where our buoy was tied to get ready for descend. As I went underwater I closed my eyes for a few seconds and felt the water surround my whole body and, as I opened my eyes I was welcomed to a new world I had never seen before. It was a beautiful summer day and the water was crystal clear with 15 + meters of visibility.

16386884_1570384709653221_8292345600354045573_n.jpg

I had always thought that diving would be something difficult to do but it turns out to be quite the opposite. It is super easy and I believe everybody should try it. Our oceans are vastly unexplored and the more people start diving the more knowledge we gain about our planet. Raising awareness to rid our oceans of plastic and garbage, it a huge problem that needs to be eliminated. Save the oceans and experience a new world, help make our planet a better place for future generations. The survival of earth is our responsibility!

Take care Steemians!

Sort:  

My buddy check list was the Filipino breakfast:
Breakfast With Rice And Fish :-)

I only started with my Padi on the Philippines and haven't been there since but it will stay my trick forever reminding me of those first steps into diving.

'Breakfast With Rice And Fish' - that's brilliant @pieter87. Diving in the Philippines is a must! Can't wait to go there myself!

We recommended this post here and here.

We are Discover Steem, if you like our work consider giving us an upvote. :) If you don't wish to receive recommendations under your posts, reply with STOP.

To be candid, this piece is an inspiration to all. What I learnt from this story is; never to get scared while chasing a dream, as it will eventually end in excitement. I love your courage sir. And hopefully a person reading this finds a motivation to make this life a better place to live.....

Upvote & Comment successfully Done ✅
Follow me for more upvote and comment

Please upvote my post. Link: https://steemit.com/steemit/@itzrafi/my-photography-logo-001#comments

This blogs makes me nostalgic ;D I got myself PADI certified at ko tao. Such amazing dive spots there, even saw a whaleshark!!!

Hey, man! That was a fun read, keep'em coming. I hope we will hang out on the island soon. :)

I really hope to see you here soon! Can't wait for your music video in Koh Tao!

To much excited about your diving experience but I think it is only for the brave persons.We know so little of the sea but it is time to eplore it now for the walfare of the mankind.Hope many brave persons will be interested to diving day day and one day the whole mystery of the great ocean will be disclosed.

thanks kohexperience @ shearing amazing post ,enjoy the new job pic are very nice

I done vote your post because your post is very good... Amazing.... Thanks to sharing...

a much deeper elevation of soul happens at them deep dives! , there are much larger flws and thigs in play, its a dive within, its the same principle, prana , chi , meditation , tries to teach..

Mate. Great stuff. I lived in Thailand and dived at Lipe, Tao, Lanta, Rayong etc. An amazing experience. I saw a baby Whale Shark off of Hin Daeng from Lanta. Mind Blowing. Keep up the good work.

The fish in the depths are beautiful

to be honest, I also failed to achieve the aim of life and now twinkling here and there with no targetted goal. you were lucky to have this opportunity. I like and can do it but habitat is not available here. So looking for some alternative
Best of Luck

This post is resteemed and upvoted by @bestboom

Congrats on become a certified diver. I did it many years ago and it's been one of the best experiences of my life!

I'm so glad to hear that, are you certified as well?

nice post @kohexperience

Resteem bot Service! Boost Your Post. Send 0.200 SBD and your post url on memo and we will resteem your post on 6500+ followers from two different account.@stoneboy and @vimal-gautam.

Delegate STEEM POWER 1000 SP Or Any Amount Through v2.steemconncet.

Wonderful post ..thanks for sharing...Best of luck friend ✫

this is the best bot for steembottracker clik here https://steemit.com/bots/@hassanbenali/the-best-bot-for-service-how-to-create-steem-bot-tracker

Transfer 0.200 SBD or 0.250 steem to @mrbean1 and put the link of your post in the public memo you get 5 good UPVOT and resteem by @mrbean1 +followers