Scrappy Quilt

in #diy6 years ago

In celebration of the National Sewing Month, I thought it would be a great idea to use all my fabric scraps and turn them into something beautiful. So, I challenged myself and started working on it.

My fabric scarps were not more than 1/8 quarter. Some were very small so I cut them into 3” squares and then I made 4 patch blocks with those squares.

As I am new to quilt piecing, I practiced making blocks using scraps. I made 8 different blocks and they were from free Craftsy class by Amy Gibson and Laura Nownes.

After completing these block, I arranged all of them to see if I could make a quilt out of that by piecing all together. But some blocks were in different sizes. To fix that, I chain pieced together all my remaining scraps into a long 3-inch strip and pieced that strip together with the blocks to make them bigger.

I even used the muslin scraps to make quilt backing. The batting I used is polyester and it was from remnants. I hand quilted it with just simple stitches around all blocks. This gives raised effect to all blocks.

This was a fun project as I was able to use scraps to make something useful. I really enjoyed making it.

I hope you like my scrappy quilt.

As always...when in doubt, just Craft and Sew!