1liter red oak, spalted black walnut and copper mug

in #diy5 years ago

This is a mug design I've been working on for a little while.

I sometimes use thick natural fiber rope or paracord for the bands instead of copper.

It's sort of a barrel style, with my vertical slats, glued together with bands to add support. I use Tight bond 3 for glue it all together. Tight bond 3 is great, water proof, strong and indirect food contact fda approved. Then I coat it all with a few layers of Max CLR-HP A/B clear epoxy resin, which is direct food contact. Took me ages to find a direct food safe resin that works well with wood. Love the stuff.

The handle is spalted black walnut from a tree my parents had to take down. And the barrel is red oak. I cut some copper bands and gave them a hammered finish. Got some copper nails to attach the band with. The resin coat is over the bands, so it should hold it's finish for a good while.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 12.27% upvote from us for your 2651 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!