We Have The Tools

in #diy2 years ago (edited)


The concept of Open Source started with software, but we are learning that the idea can be used in lots of other areas we also need.

Either way, software remains the backbone used for for groups and communities to communicate as well as creating everything from the things to the content about the things.

You can create anything you want.

Using the array of technologies freely available to you through open source, anything is possible now. You can build or create anything you need, from servers that can do anything you want to audio/ video and image editing to CAD files, blockchain platforms and oh, so much more.

Anything. Really.

The Open Source Software Index.

Use this index to find the tools you want to use to create and communicate to your heart's content. It is all free and it is all freedom.

This isn't an all inclusive index, however. This is a very curated index of software (and even more importantly, devs) that the DiggnDeeper project intends to try to support. This means we are planning on being invested in certain things (Linux, Nextcloud, Wordpress, Hive, Blender ...), but does not in any way mean we think less of other software or devs.

We just want to develop an all encompassing system to learn and support or time. This way we can document and grow in value.

It is important to me that this is clear throughout our project.

The Professional Community Edition

This is what I use to run this DiggnDeeper Project, my farrier business, my media side hustle, my DIY hobby and general technophile satisfaction.

Hardware: Lenovo P52 Thinkpad running PopOS

I truly believe this to be the complete package with world class capabilities. This is very scalable, flexible, and robust. its not really very hard to use or understand either.

Linux. The Freedom Seed?

Nextcloud

Wordpress

Blender

Hive

LBRY

Calc

Join Us.

Open source and decentralized tools are creating a free, robust and peaceful new way. We would love to hear from you about how you are using these tools or if you need some guidance, we may be able to help.

You can find me on:



Posted from my blog with Exxp : https://software.diggndeeper.com/decentralized-opensource-software/
Sort:  

I admire your positivity, I really do. Having just read this post and checked out your website your project seems to be built on optimism, which is often in short supply in this world.

I couldn't agree more that even though we live in sinister and wholly corrupted times nonetheless we now have technologies which provide us with tools to make our lives genuinely better, in various ways.

However, will all that said no amount of technology can resolve the problems us ordinary people make for ourselves. I have seen people who started out with the right mindset and took real advantage of the blockchain, built a unique, engaging and successful project and then fucked it all over because they were tempted by the forces of corruption. Then there are people who simply enjoy pressing their self destruct button. Then there are the people who allow avarice to consume them, and then their lives become entirely focused on greed.

Please don't think for one moment I am a negative or cynical person, I am not. Far from it. I have met some of the most amazing and inspiring people on the blockchain. I know blockchain technologies really do give us ordinary folk part of the solution, and it's a big part for sure.

You seem to have a really positive approach backed up with a sound understanding of our society. I have just signed up to your Discord and I look forward to having more of these discussions in there. Perhaps we could even get a regular hangout going?

Yeah. I think it is wise to keep perspective. I do have a very positive, maybe even too positive outlook on open source and decentralized tech and philosophy. It may be good for me to be reminded that these things are not a panacea.

I'm all for more discussions and hangouts.

There is no link I see to the Open Software Index.

Thanks!

Yeah, I see I omitted a whole section that clarifies a lot more.

I just run around doing facepalms.

Thank you very much for pointing that out. On it.

I am not happy with the way this is coming out. The more I fuss with how to present this, the more I'm not sure exactly how to make it work the way I want.

I'll keep working on it. Eventually, I know it will fall in place.

The problem is that it is so much a work in progress and blah, blah, blah.

Hang with me, I'll get it.

Hey buddy thanks for the HP delegation! Just notice now, sorry..

My pleasure! I'll leave it there for a month or two or something.

Thanks for all you do. Those graphics are handy. I see lots of people using them.