Making Homemade Lip Balm

in #diy6 years ago (edited)

IMG_0136.JPG
This should make me enough lip balms for a lifetime!

Bye bye store bought lip balms!


I was not happy with my last two lip balms I bought. One was EOS, the other Chapstick, both grapefruit flavored. Maybe it was the flavoring, but I swear they only made my lips thirstier! Or maybe that is their trick, to get you to use more more often, and then buying more. Either way, no more! I'll make my own.

This should be simple, right?


This project went the way all my other first-time projects go. I make assumptions that end up biting me in the butt. Not that I'm complaining (gotta learn somehow), it just shouldn't surprise me anymore. I only had these 2 containers to use, and looking at my recipe, I thought I better half it and go from there. Also, I had no idea what kind of container to use to melt my ingredients. I ended up picking this one.
IMG_0137.JPG
I planned on melting in the microwave, so I was a little skeptical on using plastic. But just look at that perfect little spout! Plastic concern overridden!

I put in 1/2 tbsp beeswax, 1/2 tbsp coconut oil, and (roughly) 3/4 tbsp shea butter. My beeswax would not melt..
IMG_0138.JPG
I did my best to scrape all that goodness into a shotglass and continue.

That's better! I also added in 4 drops peppermint oil and 2 drops lavender. IMG_0139.JPG

Now to carefully pour the piping hot liquid lip balm into the containers.
IMG_0140.JPG
Oops, I spilled.. I still had leftovers even! We don't use that shotglass, so the extra will just sit in there till next time.

I tried some on. So. Much. Better. Now the Big Man will finally want to kiss me ;)
IMG_0141.JPG

Next on the list: miracle dark circle cream.


Steem on! Upvote, comment, and follow :)
Sort:  

How cool! How did you know which and how much ingredients to use? Did you just wing it?

I actually just went to Pinterest and found a straightforward recipe. I winged it when it came to the directions :)

I am very sure this took alot of patience and hardwork to achieve but just look at how you simplified it..great work@hebrewhousewife

Thank you! It was worth it.

My daughter and I made 100 of these a while back! I give them out to new "oily sisters". I can't use anything else anymore!

You know it’s good when you only have to apply once vs. once every five minutes! What kind of container did you use for pouring?

I warmed it in a glass measuring cup with a spout, inside a pan with water that I had on the stove. I put all the containers in a 9x13 pan, then filled them all at once. That stuff gets hard almost immediately!