DIY Sandbag Toss Game

in #diy10 months ago

I first saw this fun casual garden game years back in one of the corporate sports games events and this thing stole the whole show not just for me but for a bunch of people, as they started to line up to wait their turn and/or just observe other people playing.

I've always enjoyed accuracy games irregardless of how good I may or may not be at them, so when it was time to consider, how I was going to entertain a weird, fractured bunch of people without forcing them through awkward icebreakers, the casual vibe of sports games and THIS game particularly immediately popped into mind. It was also just as immediately and obviously clear that I could easily make it myself (with a bit of woodworking assistance from our handy men of the house). And thus - The DIY Sandbag Toss Game project! (Is how I've been calling it in my mind this whole time, now doing some additional 'research' post factum, I see that it's actually called Cornhole or bean bag toss game).

Either way, the official name or the official rules were not as important to me, as this was meant to be just casual entertainment, and thus I went full yolo on the dimensions of the board or the count of bags on each team (why four if you can have five?). And even though I used a template for the bag size (also yolo'd of course), due to my inconsistent use of the allocated seam widths, they too ended up in slightly different sizes. .. I am just learning to sew, sue me! xD

None of it needed to be perfect, it just needed to function and be fun to use.

Since I opted for fine white sand from a nearby cave for the filling of the bags, I needed to make sure they wouldn't spill out even when taking some severe beating and tossing. So double fabric it was.

Here's the 'insides' ready -

Time to fill them up with sand. I used scales to ensure they were roughly the same weight.

Unfortunately I can't comment much on the most difficult part of the project - cutting out a decently round hole in the board. I did varnish, sand and varnish the board again, though, so that it allows for some sliding and also doesn't take any potential water damage.

Once the insides were sown shut and ready, it was time to divide them into teams with two different colors for the outside layer.

Nearly there..


Time to stress-test it!


It works! The stress test passed - the stress immediately dissolves by just holding the cute, squishable sand-filled bag! xD

The bags also don't immediately disintegrate upon landing, so a win-win! ^^


So, what do you say?

Would you enjoy playing this game?
Would you take on a project like this?

May you have an epic and inspired day!
I'll catch you some other time.


Hugs&Coffee,
~Josie~

Sort:  

Congratulations @josie2214! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 6 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Feedback from the July Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - June 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the July edition of the Hive Power Up Month!

Congratulations @josie2214! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - June 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the July edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - July 1st 2023

Congratulations @josie2214! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - June 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the July edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - July 1st 2023