Mouse girl Process

in #diy4 years ago

I'll show you how I go through my art-making process of making this sweet gal.

whala, finished.jpg

I start by making the quick pencils for this cutie. In this stage I make choices before I ink of what stays and goes, usually making adjustments to her features until I feel confident to ink her.

Pencil.jpg

I add a little drop shadow near the head when I ink. I think it brings out her hair.

Inking 2.jpg

Once I finish inking I erase all of the pencils though I'll go back over some of the inked lines that look faded. Once that is done I let this sit for a while before I start coloring.

Inking 1.jpg

I begin to work on the base colors here on this stage with her fur ( Using 133 baby skin pink TouchNew marker) and ears ( R00 and E0000 in copics and a colorless blender). Her skirt I used permanent markers in pink, orange and red and one artskills marker orange.

Base color.jpg

I begin shading with tea rose E93 for her hair, fur and ears. It gives a warm and soft shade to the drawing.

Shading 1.jpg

Once I finish shading, I begin to add little flowers to the background. Simply I use green and pink permanent markers to make them.

step back after shading.jpg

I add in some of the last little highlights with a gellyroll before I complete the illustration.

showing gelly roll.jpg
starting highlights.jpg

And we are done~

whala, finished.jpg

These are the Materials I used for this illustration. I cut my own stock paper I buy from Walmart.
You can buy a pack of eight Artskill markers at Walmart for five dollars and they are excellent beginner-friendly and affordable markers.

I bought touch new markers from WISH, they're quite cheap. To get the soft colors that I used, I recommend buying their Pastel set which is fifteen dollars but you get twelve markers.

Another brand I love to use that is affordable is Masters Touch markers, they are the cheapest brush markers I have tried and give off really nice colors. They go for five dollars in hobby lobby but you can get them on sale for three dollars a marker every other week.

Lastly, I use sharpies Fineliner and Copic markers.

As a tip, it's good to have the back of a sketchbook behind your paper when you begin to color in your drawing since the markers tend to bleed through the paper.
Materials.jpgMaterials 2.jpg

Sort:  

Nice work drawing her and showing your process! She looks cute. :)

Why thank you!

Cuteness like this takes quite some work for miss Penelope to come out nice.

You're welcome! And definitely! It's a delicate process to get it right. hehe

Congratulations @lackypop! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 300 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!
 4 years ago  Reveal Comment