Tricks of the Trade!!! (Removing Old Fuel Filters from 2 Stroke Machines)

in #diy6 years ago (edited)

Screenshot_1.jpg

For anybody who has a few 2 stroke machines for home lawn maintenance or if you work in lawn maintenance, chances are you have come across this issue. As a landscaper, I use 2 stroke machines almost every day during the cutting and cleanup seasons. This means I service machines regularly. For me it's the beginning of the season, and we are gearing up to go. They can be brought into the shop, but that can get expensive.

So your machine has gained hours and hours of work and it's time to service. You have changed the air filter and swapped the spark plug, but many like myself don't have all of the tools in the world. While I have many tools, in fact all of the tools I need right now, I even have a tool to pull that little fuel filter out of a 2 stroke machine. It cost me almost nothing and you can make it . . . Trust me.

IMG_2180.JPG

All you need is a metal cloths hanger and a good pair of wire cutters. On the picture above I show where I cut the hanger. The shorter bend becomes the hook and the longer bend becomes a finger loop.

2016_0101_000524_002.JPG

Bend the hook and twist on the finger loop. The loop in my opinion makes it easier to use. It's as simple as that to make this tool and it will last a lifetime as long as you don't lose them. I have 3 of these hanging in the garage myself. Just as simple as making it, using it isn't much different. A little bit of fishing around the gas tank with this and you will hook up with the fuel filter. After that reel,err pull it out and swap filters with ease.

ezgif.com-video-to-gif.gif

This is the tool that I now use to swap all of my 2 stroke fuel filters. I have a total of 14 machines to work on a few times of the year, and this cheap solution made it a breeze for me.

2016_0101_000431_001.JPG

Thank you for reading! I hope this helps a few people out!
For more please:
Upvote &
Subscribe

Normally I post fishing related posts, If that's what your looking for please check out @myhuntingfishing/ #myhuntingfishing

Sort:  

You're a pretty handy guy!

Thanks for this.

I didn't even realize, though it makes perfect sense, that a gas lawnmower even had a fuel filter! Shows you what I know, and how little I've attempted to maintain mine over the years.

Would that be something that would cause a mower to stop functioning all of a sudden? Ours can sit in the garage for months between cutting seasons. The first few years, everything was fine, but about a year ago, it stopped working.

Anyway, not expecting to troubleshoot my problem. We'll probably get rid of it, eventually, so no worries there. I was just curious for next time, since I do know there's a fuel filter now. :)

That tool is pretty handy. I love it when I'm able to adapt something to do another job. My grandfather was a master at that kind of thing and so I've always considered it a family trait to adapt things for my own use. I'm probably the only one in the family who does, though. :)

Any other tools you create yourself to keep things running or for any other use?

Your welcome and thank you. if your mower is a 2 stroke, meaning oil/gas mix, it will have a fuel filter and if you don't swap it will eventually make it harder gas to move through. If your mower takes regular gas, make sure the air filter is clean, change your oil, and replace your spark plug (make sure its spaced correctly). If you can send me a picture of your mower and tell run me through what your experiencing I might be able to help you out. And yes there are many tools and solutions up my sleeve and I hope to cover them in this "Tricks of the Trade" segment of my posting.

Okay. I'll make a comment here with a picture of the mower and walk you through it. There probably won't be much to tell. Thanks for offering to do this. That's very kind of you.

Great showing this. It's amazing how nobody seems to do these things anymore!

As a friendly reminder, the upvote fee is $0.05 SBD ($0.051 for incognito). Current 300%+ upvote is now $0.15+ SBD.

That being said…

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote, comment and resteem from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

Upvote & Comment successfully Done ✅
Follow me for more upvote and comment

Please upvote my post. Link: https://steemit.com/steemit/@itzrafi/my-photography-logo-001#comments

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work