You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Silicone Molding - Take 2! And that pesky financial take on what the hell I'm doing....

in #diy6 years ago

Yay!
How to attach your frame to your board: Position it and draw around that and remove the frame. Then take a drill and drill holes in the board, within those lines you drew, where you want the fasteners to be.
From there, turn your frame upside down, position your board above the frame, where you drew the lines. Now take a marker of some kind and mark the top of the frame by inserting pen or whatever into the holes.
Take your drill and drill a small way into the frame, where the marks were made, taking care to drill straight down and not at an angle. Not too deep.
Now get screws and screw that board on to your frame.

It will take a little practice - practice on the wrecked pieces - but you'll get the hang of it.

Ask if the instructions aren't clear

Sort:  

I thought I'd be fancy and mold the type of frame that has the little indent groove for the glass and photo to snuggly fit in, which leaves me with too thin of a strip to drill into. I'm thinking if I can drill into the thicker/upper portion and just put in a tiny screw with a toggle-ma-bob-thing to swing back and forth then that might work? I've started taking apart all the frames in my house to see if any will be the right size, lol. I don't want the screw to be the fastener, as multiple screwing and unscrewing will wear down the cement and make the hole too big over time.

IMG_20180518_180956.jpg