SILIŅI. DIY toy for your child.

in #diy6 years ago

I whanted to make this type of toy for my child for a long time. Offcourse there's allways the opion to buy one, but this perticular one I whanted to make myself. By the time a made one, she allready got other ones that are a little bit more advanced but she's still playing with it.

I made it from a sheat of laminated cardboard. They make laminate for floor out of it. I got it when I was working in a building material shop - similar to home depot. And every time they broth in a new pallet with laminate on top of that pallet was a sheat that they cound'nt use for making laminate boards. There purpose was to protect the "good" product from scratching. Sometimes those sheats where damaged, sometimes there was something wrong with the paint job, sometimes we could'nt find anything wrong with it at all. And since they where not for sale, they where usualy thrown away. So I got my hands on couple of them.

My idea was to cut out two plates and glue them together.
IMG_20180125_125016.jpg

Made a sketch with some geometrical figures. She is learning the names of those things at the moment.
IMG_20180125_130750.jpg

Cut them out with a jigsaw and scratched the two surfaces that I am going to glue together. Since there laminated I thought that the glue might not stick that good to the surface, so I made a lot of deep scratches.
IMG_20180125_144511.jpg

I used glue that is made for mirrors. Just something I had around the house.
IMG_20180125_145121.jpg

And some few days later, when the glue has completely dried out, it's good to go. I gave it our child and she loved it. To bad I didn't film it - she took the thing, named all of the figures, put them in the "right" places and she was wery happy about a new thing to play with.
IMG_20180215_081305.jpg

Here's a little video.

Sort:  

I love this

You have any children? Or you like DIY stuff?

I love the stuff