DIY .. Childrens Go-cart racer .. Custom RED ROCKET .. Wooden Go-cart .. Granddaughters love it!! Not your weekend project :)

in #diy7 years ago

So, like many of you, I am a lover of Pinterest :) I happen to be looking thru the childrens topic a few weeks ago looking for some fun ideas for outdoor toys for the grand-babies. I seen the below picture and thought to myself, HOW FUN WOULD THIS BE!!! A home made wooden go-cart. I began thinking back of when I was a kid and about the wooden go-cart my dad made for us 4 kids. We had so much fun on that go-cart .. we were lucky enough that we lived on a street with a slight hill :) I still to this day can see my dad and my brother building this together .. GREAT MEMORIES!!


Pic found on Pinterest

TONY!!!! I have a GREAT idea (I yelled to my hubby). You need to make the girls a wooden go-cart :) Anything for the grand-babies he is all about! So I remember that we had this old "Readers Digest, Complete Do-It-Yourself Manuel" - I just could not remember where I had put this darn manual. It came to me!!! WWWWHHHHHAAAALLLLLAAAAAAA!!! I found the published in 1978 version of the Readers Digest, Complete Do-It-Yourself Manual :)
Readers Digest.jpg

On page 578 of this manual are instructions on how to make a wooden go-cart .. YES!!!

A4D9B054-1.jpg

86EA1C29-1.jpg

So off to the garage my hubby went to see what wood and materials we already had that we could use to make this wooden go-cart. I knew that we had a lot of extra wood pieces in the garage since we have flipped a few houses and was certain we had plenty of left over scraps :) But I had no idea that he would be considering making this go cart out of solid oak!!! YUPPPP, he used the top of an old solid oak table to make this wooden go-cart. Tony is an analyzer and he has to think and think and think and think about how he is going to make something, he cannot just follow the simple instructions from the 1978 manual that I found for him. A 2 day project turned into a 8 day project - WWWWHHHHAAATTTT!!! No kidding, he spent hours and hours, days and nights in the garage, sawing and sanding and sanding and sanding. He put so much thought into this project, he even made the seat deep enough to fit two people so they could ride together. This simple wooden go-cart project turned into a custom solid oak wooden go-cart. If you were going to buy something like this, would cost you about $500 to a $1000 :)

I must say, the finished project is absolutely amazing!! The grand-babies and even great grandma are having a blast with this. I could not be more happy with the way this turned out .. of course, papa is a HERO to these girls. This wooden go-cart will last forever in hopes that it can be passed down to the next generation.

IMG_10471.jpg

571EF8BF-1.jpg

IMG_10481.jpg

BEB4691C-1.jpg

98ECFA00-1.jpg

C3931263-1.jpg

F483B4FA-1.jpg

IMG_10511.jpg

0E0010D8-1.jpg

IMG_10451.jpg

IMG_04971.jpg

I sure hope you love this post as much as I do!!! Please be sure and upvote and resteem it :) Guys, I hope you consider making a go-cart for your kids or grandchildren .. I promise, they will love you for it!!!!

Thanks for visiting my post today Steemit Friends .. Remember, SUNSHINE247 loves you :)

Sort:  

My vote going up.read my blog and upvote.

Thank you Friend .. Have a GREAT rest of your weekend!!

Go-Carts take me right back to my school days and the 6 weeks summer holidays, as we lived on a jitty that had a slight slope it was perfect for go-cart racing, and every summer we meaning me and all the rest of the kids that lived in our little jitty would get to work making our go-carts.

Nowhere near anything like your hubby made, that is super flash !!!
We didn’t even have brakes, just the soles of our shoes lol!!!!
Fun times

Memories!!!! Yes, the soles of shoes :) I remember taping my shoes and almost always did my shoes get a hole in the toe before my parents would buy me a new pair :) Thank you so much for visiting my post today .. I hope it brought a smile to your face :) SUNSHINE247

Looks fun. If a pedal is added together with some gears you have a leg propelled cart on the go!

So true!!! Maybe I can convince my hubby to do a pedal car next!!!! Yea - GREAT IDEA!!!!! Thanks you so much for visiting tonight Friend .. Have a GREAT rest of your weekend :) SUNSHINE247

Ver intresting post. Nicely done , detail oriented and well elaborated along with nice pics. thank you for sharing

Thank you for visiting kingjan :) I hope you have a wonderful Sunday!! SUNSHINE247

nice DIY project !!!

Thank you Bruzzy - thanks for visiting on this BEAUTIFUL Sunday :) SUNSHINE247

Super! It's great! Follow me, I start on Steemit. My blog is about nature, family, about life in the countryside, I hope to find many followers and new friends here.

Thank you for visiting me on this beautiful Sunday!! I will visit you blog :) SUNSHINE247