Sugru, a DIY wonder tool

in #diy6 years ago

If you do a lot of DIY projects, you will likely find many uses for Sugru. Sugru is sort of like Playdoh but dries quickly and turns into a hard rubber-like texture. You can use it to drop proof a camera, fix a leaky pipe, add contour grip to a baseball bat. It has so many users and most of them are not on the box.


Source

I love Sugru, but it is expensive.

What can you do with it?

Clothes hanger holder


Source

iPad wall mount in the kitchen


Source

Power cord mounts


Source

Corners for a Raspberry Pi so you don't need a case


Source

I could go on and on, I used it to add a headset holder on the back of my computer, an iPhone mount on my elyptical, cover screws and nails on the basement ceiling, and a grippy handy for my letter opener.

One guy made some bumpers for his iPhone to make it virtually drop proof in this video:

I keep some in my fridge all the time, I don't use it often but when I do it is to create something I likely can't get anywhere else. Keeping it in the fridge extends the life of the product that normally has a 6-month lifespan, to around 2 years.

If you want to see it in action, here is a great video that shows a lot of ideas and how to use it.




X48EJ

Why you should vote me as witness

Witness & Administrator of four full nodes

Active, Present, Passionate

My recent popular posts

STEEM, STEEM Power, Vests, and Steem Dollars. wtf is this shit?
The truth and lies about 25% curation, why what you know is FAKE NEWS
WTF is a hardware wallet, and why should you have one?
GINABOT - The Secret to your Sanity on Steemit
How to calculate post rewards
Use SSH all the time? Time for a big boy SSH Client
How to change your recovery account
How curation rewards work and how to be a kick ass curator
Markdown 101 - How to make kick ass posts on Steemit
Work ON your business, not in your business! - How to succeed as a small business
You are not entitled to an audience, you need to earn it!
How to properly setup SSH Key Authentication - If you are logging into your server with root, you are doing it wrong!
Building a Portable Game Console

Sort:  

Got it for my son for Christmas 2 years ago. Very useful.

Hi! Friends
I am Jitendra Gautam
If you want to earn huge money from steemit.
If you not able to write a unique catchy content then I have an offer for you I will write 10 posts for you, in return you have to give 1 steam dollar
and write all the posts in 5 hours. If you want to check my posts then @jkgautam and If you want that I will write posts for you then contact me at [email protected]

I like this idea. I think it's pretty neat and I like the hanger idea and this little Sugru could be a neat little tool that makes our life a little bit easier and easy to use.
Thanks for sharing it @themarkymark

It looks kind of like Blu Tack but Blu Tack stays sticky. I presume these turns hard and become non sticky after it dries?

It has a smooth rubberized but firm feeling. Not sticky at all.

It's almost like hand sculptable 3D printing.

Hy Friends I'm M Rizwan

great, thanks for teaching us!!!