You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Laptop

in #diy6 years ago

OpenBSD is way different now. Everything just works, its like a Gentoo or FreeBSD experience except no problems, also the security is very good so you don't have to do updates often.

I live in South Africa so there are plenty of people that need computers here , but even if you are in the USA there are plenty of people who are poor or live in the hood that would love to own a computer or even mobile phone, good motivation to offload some hardware :)

Sort:  

I might give it a shot in the near future. I just got Devuan working on here, so I'm not in a hurry to swap it for something else. But then I need more SD cards before I can try anything else, anyway.

I did Linux from Scratch about ten years ago. I learned a ton. I actually did a few more installs here and there of it. It really helped me to understand the boot process and getting different devices to work.

I've never been in a position where a system only had serial as an option. I've used it to capture kernel output, but not really interactively.

As for BSD, I like the GNU flavor shell utilities, the BSD ones have weird flags. Maybe I'll try out the Debian flavored BSD...