Home DIY: Installing a lockable gate latch

in #diy6 years ago (edited)

This is my very first post on Steemit. It's also the first time I have recorded one of the many things I have done around the home. I don't consider myself to be a tradesman (or tradie where I'm from) by any stretch... I'm just that person who fixes the little things around the home. To me, everything (even as simple as tightening a tap) is a challenge and we all need to start somewhere.

Like many of us here, I have learned so much from community videos, so I suppose this is my way of giving back to the next person looking to install a new latch on their side gate!

This video follows me as I install a lockable gate latch on a steel post and gate frame. The latch design allows it to be locked from both sides easily.


The video includes:

  • Positioning the latch,
  • Drilling access holes,
  • Mounting the latch component and the striker component.
  • A few tips and examples of the things that can catch you out along the way.

Tools you will need include:

  • Measuring Tape
  • Right angle square
  • Drill
  • Impact driver (optional)
  • Pencil / marker
  • Hacksaw
  • Hole punch
  • Screwdriver with Philips head #2 (PH2) bit (that can be used on the drill or impact driver also)
  • 4mm drill bit (5/32") * I used 3mm in the video
  • 13mm drill bit (1/2") * Can get away with 12mm

Please feel free to post any comments, or even anything you would have done differently!

-Voj