I Made A Chritmas Tree

in #diy7 months ago

So today I had some scrap wood lying about. Of course it was full of nails, not smooth or really very good looking wood. But I thought why not try and make something with it?

So I did, here is my scrap wood Christmas Tree.

1000006994.jpg

Getting the nails out of these boards nearly killed me!
I'm sure the nails had little nail babies in the boards. There was just so many nails in such a small amount of wood.
I'm actually surprised the wood even held together after removing the nails.

1000006993.jpg

Now I had a pile of fresh de-nailed wood ready to make my tree.

1000006995.jpg

I couldn't figure out how to connect the boards together at first. My first attempt I tried gluing the bits on to each other but that was rubbish, there just wasn't enough area for the glue.

Then I came upon some plyboard in the corner of the workshop. So I again glued the planks onto the board and it really made a great area to lay out and sort how I wanted the tree to look.

1000006996.jpg

Glued together and weighted down for a few hours helped the glue to take hold. Next came cutting out the plyboard backing. This I didn't really think would be difficult. Oh it was a right nightmare.
I used an electric jigsaw which kept catching the planks and not cutting the plyboard straight.
So after a lot of bad language and frustration I managed to cut most of the backing board off.
A chisel and hand sander allowed me to make some smoother edges.

1000006998.jpg

And this is the finished product. I am genuinely quite pleased with this as DIY/Woodwork is very new to me even though I managed to build a crooked playhouse. But it's all a big learning step and I am really enjoying it.

Now I cant decide whether to just varnish it or paint it first so for now it will stay in this form until I can make a decision on what to do.

Sort:  

Congratulations @youloseagain! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 600 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the September PUM Winners
Feedback from the October Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - September 2023 Winners List

Thankful the nail didn't cause any damage. Trying out new craft can be daunting, but the more you do it, the better you get. The little tree looks nice, just a big of painting and it's all set.
Great going.

As someone who is new to wood stuff, this wasn't a bad job at all. I'd have hurt myself with them nails 😅

!DIY
!discovery 25


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our Community and follow our Curation Trail
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program
@stevenson7 just sent you a DIY token as a little appreciation for your post dear @youloseagain! Feel free to multiply it by sending someone else !DIY in a comment :) You can do that x times a day depending on your balance so:

Don't be shy - share some DIY!

You can query your personal balance by !DIYSTATS

Nice Job!
looking fine 😄

!LOLZ
!PGM
!BBH

@youloseagain! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @arc-echo. (1/1)

Did you hear about the new corduroy pillows?
I understand they're really marking headlines.

Credit: reddit
@youloseagain, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of arc-echo

(1/4)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.