Clean Planet/DIY Hub Contest Entry :)

in #diyhub4 years ago

Hey everyone! So @cleanplanet and @diyhub have a contest going where they are asking people to make something out of trash or make a sign that says Hive out of trash, either that you picked up doing a #cleanplanet action, or from trash in your home, with a focus on recycling.

So since I have been too wiped out to do a clean planet litterwalk in a long time (argh, I've really been wanting to, too), I decided to make my "Hive" sign with my odd recyclables!

Hive1.jpg

These are things that aren't usually recyclable, but I found a place that collects them for recycling downtown. They send them to places like Terracycle, which recycles hard-to-recycle items like these.

So I spelled out my letters with cat food pouches, except for the dot of the "i" which is from a used water pitcher filter! Both of these things are recyclable through the place downtown but not in normal city recycling. I collect them in a basket on top of my fridge until I head that way on the bus. It's been a while, because of covid, I don't know if the office I drop them off at is still open, but that's OK, because I don't collect them that fast. I usually buy cat food in cans, and only occasionally in pouches.

Hive2.jpg

This is the place downtown where I can drop them off for recycling. They also collect things like pens/markers, wires, lightbulbs, batteries, all sorts of "technically yes but good luck finding someplace to take it" recyclables, lol:
alliance center.jpg

So there's my entry! Go check out the contest, they are giving away some really amazing prizes. And if you can, try a clean planet litterwalk! :)

Sort:  

Thank you @phoenixwren, for using the CO2 Compensation Coin (COCO) to reduce your CO2 footprint.

Great entry and rules followed !
Great collecte and then recycle....
Thanks a lot
@cleanplanet
@yann0975

Nice recycling act, hmm I wanna join, my family laugh at my collecting litter habit, now, I found this, nice contest.

Do join in on #cleanplanet actions! I try to do one when I can (cleaning up litter).

Cool contest idea, I like your entry :))))

Sankyuu ;)

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment