NCAA poised to move toward allowing athletes to make money

in #dlike5 years ago

Shared From Dlike

When California introduced the bill to pay student athletes, I was expecting opposition. Then, we didn't hear anything about it for some time. This is actually a surprising development to me.

It's good to see that NCAA is taking steps towards a sensible ground. While they wanted to maintain the spirit of amateur sports, it made sense to not exploit the players.

I recall how nonsensical it was for companies such as EA to make massive profits off of their sports games. They used the images, signature moves, etc. of those student athletes for their own gains. While I agree with those players getting some slices of the pie, I have no problem with limitations.
 

It all comes back to keeping the spirit of amateurism in college sports, I like that compromise. The athletes shouldn't involve themselves in commercial contracts with businesses, local or otherwise. Of course, I would assume "gifts" that violate current regulations apply as well.

Nevertheless, this is a good development. I guess California can be right once in a blue moon. I suppose a broken clock is right twice a day. We are still 4 or 5 years away from a formal decree on how this would work. So, stay tuned while you enjoy some college sports.


Shared On DLIKE