Houses: Extraordinary Living

in #dlike5 years ago

Shared From Dlike

In the UK, the BBC is mainly a news organisation rather hamstrung by its government collected TV License fee model of funding. Regardless of your views towards its political affinity and news output, for those of us outside the UK, the website is a great source of interesting and varied features and articles funded not by the UK license but by a more standard commercial business model. Their output quality has to be better to earn views and subsequently, profits and so there are a multitude of sections and magazine style articles and opinion pieces.

I chose this article though, not because of its particularly high quality, but because I love architecture, and especially, modern design.

My preference has always been for small spaces long before 'tiny houses' became a thing and despite my nomadic nature, I can feel an increasing urge to find some form of stability now.

Luckily, I have the land available in a beautiful part of the world but the hardest part of my quest to build my dream, minimalist small home is now to be faced.

The money? No, although it is difficult, its not unsurmountable.

The wife! Who loves twee and chintz so much.....oh well :-(

From those awfully British people at the BBC :-

From a Modernist desert retreat to a camouflaged turf lodge, a new book, Houses: Extraordinary Living, explores the diversity of some of the world’s most awe-inspiring abodes.


Source of shared Link