Not all blockchain use will be a good thing.

in #dlike5 years ago

share-with-dlike.jpg

"Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg expresses interest in blockchain technology as an answer to data sharing concerns, as well as something to build the social media log in on"

 

I honestly don't know how Facebook plans to engage blockchain.  What I do know that if pieces of my identity exist in their 'immutable' blockchain database, it can never be deleted.  For instance, if Facebook puts personally identifiable information like my full name, birthday, etc into their blockchain, it can never be deleted.  Should I decide to stop using their service altogether (which I hope to do at some point), my data might continue to persist in their system.  

 

While blockchain is a great thing, I'm not necessarily sure private companies using centralized blockchains to store my data is something to get excited about.  These companies services become like Hotel California, "you can check out any time you like, but you can never leave."


Source of shared Link

Sort:  

Congratulations @ibuildnodez! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!