Facebook’s Underground Market for Rare Meat - MEL Magazine

in #dlike5 years ago

Shared From Dlike

This is one of the most weird things I've found this year. I almost thought it was another case of fake news. But it's very real.

Late last month, a Facebook user posted a stock image of a charred tentacle resting on a grill, with a prompt to the nearly 4,500 members of the closed group to which they belong. For the low price of $25, they could have a 1-in-10 chance of a rare 6-to-8-pound octopus, caught off the coast of Spain, being overnighted to their home.

What the post didn’t describe, but is a knowingly unspoken rule of the group, is that once they send $25 via Paypal, they must pick a number, zero through nine, and hope that their number hits. They can select multiple numbers (for $25 a piece), or if they simply must have this aquatic delicacy, they can select every number and send the poster $250.

People are creating their own lotteries inside Facebook and selling the most bizarre things, as the journalist Chris O'Connell tells us in this piece.

This is one of numerous secret Facebook groups that acts as a vibrant marketplace for everything from ultra-rare cuts of beef to bunches of stone crabs, to yes, a whole octopus that purportedly tastes better because it has Spanish blood.

Gray market meat selling is one of the newer, more absurd entries in a phenomenon sweeping across Facebook: invite-only pages where people gamble real money on the prospect of winning goods either super-rare or unavailable in their market due to distribution limitations. Need a bottle of Westvleteren 12, a Trappist beer made and sold at an Abbey in northwest Belgium, or a box of Cohibas straight from our longtime adversary, Cuba? There are multiple pages on Facebook that can help you with that, if you know where to look.

The final frontier, though, is meat: perishable, varying in quality, and unless you’re a butcher or a rancher, difficult to identify with 100 percent accuracy.

Read the entire article here.

I've been out of the Facebook drug for a few years now. I used to go there everyday, before I found out about Steem. Now that Steem is slowing down, I have a lot more free time. I spend some time digging the Internet and reading strange things. But this is the first time I hear about these weird lotteries. I don't even understand how selling meat and fish like this is allowed. One day someday will get intoxicated or worse, poisoned, and all hell will break loose.

Until then, people will gamble on anything, including pieces of meat. I'm not a big meat eater. When I'm alone, I usually eat vegetarian. No, I ain't a vegan. I love eggs and cheese too much to be a vegan.


Source of shared Link

Sort:  

@mitty How awkward it is ? We human beings are so much bad that we are destroying the nature and harming animals

Yes, people are very, very strange.

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://melmagazine.com/en-us/story/inside-facebooks-underground-market-for-rare-meat