Every Time I Die guitarist Andy Williams set for first AEW wrestling match

in #dlike4 years ago (edited)

Shared From Dlike

Just an update, but I'd like to get the word out that Andy Williams will have his debut match tomorrow (Wednesday December 11) on AEW Dynamite, which airs at 8 pm Eastern Time in the U.S.A. on TNT. I've known Andy for years. In the late 90s we would participate in backyard wrestling matches together. As I said previously, we both initially attended wrestling school together. He finally got back into it a few years ago. I'm so excited to see him wrestle on live TV. I even turned down work to go watch it live at a local record store/bar that shows AEW each week.

Andy is better known for being the guitarist in Every Time I Die for almost 20 years. It is just amazing when someone can have two dreams come true. He's not the first person I knew to succeed in wrestling. I only wrestled for about a year, but I also wrestled alongside a young Robert Roode, then known as Total Lee Awesome. He went by Rudy backstage. I also remember meeting my friend's girlfriend who he had just started training, even then going by the name Beth Phoenix. I was excited for them when they made it to TNA and WWE, but it's just even more exciting when it's someone you know from just growing up with all your friends.


Shared On DLIKE

Sort:  

That is awesome that he is a musician that also has some training/experience in the ring. Too many of these "other than wrestling" celebrities want on board when wrestling gets hot.

I am not a huge AEW fan, I don't follow any companies specifically as a whole. I focus more on various athletes I like - I am a big fan of Mox and Omega on AEW. I have been a big fan of Roode since Beer Money in TNA. I was excited to see Storm in NXT for a short while as I was hoping to see a reunion of the team in WWE (they would kill the merch tables). Sadly, that never materialized and Storm went onto do other things.

I will try and catch your friends match this weekend.

If you want to join a wrestling group over on Facebook then come check us out in the AEW/WWE group. We discuss a lot more than just those two companies (I cover a lot of Arkansas indie stuff for instance).

https://www.facebook.com/groups/415474392392707/

Andy has always loved wrestling. He probably would have got back into it sooner if not for always touring. But as the other band members got wives and kids, he decided to take up his other passion. I'm happy for him.

It sucks Roode got suspended. He always seem like genuinely nice guy.

That is awesome. Guys like that are the ones I usually tend to like more in the long run. They are in it for more than money and it shows in their work in the ring/promos.

I agree about Roode. He has been one of those that I always thought is going to be remembered fondly in the coming decades - not at the same level of someone like Hogan but maybe like we look back at guys like British Bulldog or Hacksaw Jim Duggan. A solid worker that could put on good matches and the like.