Vietnamese Chicken Salad with Mint and Lime

in #dlike5 years ago

share-with-dlike.jpg

This refreshing salad is from Nigella Lawson.  It's a perfect use of that pre-shredded cabbage that comes in a bag if you don't have the time nor inclination to shred it yourself. You can easily substitute lettuce if you don't like raw cabbage. It calls for a whole bunch of chopped mint, but don't be alarmed--it's essential to the taste, and it's lovely in the salad and not at all over-powering.  I added some broccoli slaw for extra crunch.  I used red jalapeno peppers because they are milder and I didn't want to overwhelm it with spiciness for the kids, but I made a separate little dish of fish sauce with chopped up thai chilis to spoon over my serving. DY-NO-MITE!    

This is an example of me trying to sneak spicier foods into my kids' meals.  Both my husband and I love spicy food, the hotter the better. I am getting frustrated with not being able to order my favorite spicy dishes as restaurants or having to tone down meals at home because the kids won't eat it. I want them to understand the beauty that is pasta tossed with just garlic, chilis and olive oil or a Korean Yuk Gae Jang (beef and chili pepper soup with an angry red broth) that almost makes you cry it hurts so good.    

Sandy is coming around and will now eat kimchis, curries, and salsa.  Wallie is still in wimp mode but will at least try things with a glass of water at the ready.  They're going to have to get with the program if they want to remain in this family. (Of course, I kid.)


Source of shared Link