You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: YouTube is Dying and I've Got the Data to Prove It. | Q1 '18 Streaming Platform Report

in #dlive6 years ago

I'd argue that 282% growth and more than doubling last quarters numbers are massive. So, your point saying they aren't showing massive growth is wrong. However, saying that a service is dying was a choice on my end as a title like "YouTube is Dying" is much stronger in terms of reactions than a title like "Check out the livestreaming platform which grew 282% this quarter." People love negative stuff, so I give it!

. And while YouTube's main platform isn't streaming, many within the industry agree that live streaming is the future of video content. If YouTube isn't getting a win in that category they're future looks bleak.

Also, I don't want YouTube to die. Less competition is always bad, plus it's where the majority of my audience is located. If anything I'd hope for YouTube's future to be bright, but I fear they aren't doing well at the moment.

Sort:  

So you admit making a clickbait title that isn't relevant.

I never claimed that services that focus on streaming aren't growing, I was claiming Youtube isn't dying just because other streaming services are growing. You're comparing apples to oranges.

Like others have said, 1 QTR is not enough to base this on anyway. If you look at 2017 as a whole. Youtube had DOUBLE the growth % than twitch.

In reference to:

I never claimed that services that focus on streaming aren't growing

You said in your first comment:

Also, never understand post where people get off on services "dying" just because their "big," instead of showing post about alt-services rising...
Oh that's right, because they aren't showing massive growth.

I guess I assumed that to mean you thought those services weren't growing. But, W.E. Let's chuck that up to text being difficult to convey ideas sometimes.
regarding:

So you admit making a clickbait title that isn't relevant.

I wouldn't say the title is irrelevant. YouTube is hurting in a big way. Losing 30% of creators is a huge decline. If this repeats, YouTube will be the smallest platform for live content by the end of this year. Additionally, being 120% behind the industry average is a huge deal, even if it's just 1 Quarter. If bitcoin was down 30% while every other crypto grew an average of 90%, don't you think people would be pronouncing bitcoin dead?

Lastly, can you post a source for YouTube's 2017 year growth? I can't find anything that suggests double the growth twitch had.

You said in your first comment:

No, I didn't.

Lastly, can you post a source for YouTube's 2017 year growth?

https://blog.streamlabs.com/streamlabs-livestreaming-q4-report-tipping-reaches-100m-for-the-year-youtube-dominates-in-4bf450fae536