You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Power of Women Standing Up to Sexist Comments Online

in #dlive6 years ago

ahh good for you to stand up and leave that poor girl a word of encouragement. Your right, it's the anonymity that people hide behind. They would never say something like that to your face... but online when no one knows you? Ugh... so messed up.

Maybe that is one more way that Steemit helps to discourage that kind of behavior. Even though someone could say hateful/trolling comments... there would be damage done to their reputation. Someone's reputation is visible to all here - where on YouTube, they really can stay anonymous.

Sort:  

I love steemits way for reputation, I think its one of its best features and if youtube was to do something like that it would help alot.
But lets get on to facebook. these people are idiots on there, they don't seem to care that their name face and details are there for everyone too see. it makes me wonder what these people think.

Yeah... it's a little crazy in Facebookland! I do think a lot of people are losing faith in them after the recent security breaches. Even though they are trying to backtrack... it seems like the damage is done.

I hate facebook, I do have an account, but the way I see it is why would I want to connect with people who I hated when i was at school.
All the drama and then they want to add you as a friend. I had 460 friends on there, I started to delete them and I'm down to about 160 and these are true friends and family.