You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: In Light Of Recent Events: Can We Reach A Consensus On Banning Abusive Users From Steem?

in #dlive6 years ago

Very sorry and sad this happened; found my way here via Asher's post. This stuff is scary... looking back at this skunk's wallet history, he has taken as much as 400+ SBD from some users.

I suppose it is part of reality that there will always be crooks. I don't understand why, but it is almost inevitable.

There is something slightly ironic here: The "freedom/libertarian/anarchist" crowd laughs and makes fun of "liberals" for being excessively inclusive (of races and religions and philosophies) and yet seems deadset on "protecting" a different type of excessively inclusive behavior: the "freedom" to be a thief and a crook.

Am I the only one who sees this as hypocrisy?

"Oh, we can't ban or censor anyone! That would be against our right to freedom!"

So we can take out a gun and SHOOT them (because that's a "freedom" we have the "right" to), but we can't simply take a much more peaceful approach and BANISH them for criminal activity (because that would be "censorship")?

Sorry, things like this make me very angry, sorry to have gotten "political" on your post.

Anyway, I'm happy you didn't lose more than you did, and I hope Asher's call for solutions brings up something.

=^..^=