The Fugees-Killing Me Softly (Loop By Ed Privat)

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

What's up good people of earth!

Today I am rocking the Boss RC-20XL for another loop, this time it's song composed by Charles Fox with lyrics by Norman Gimbel with the collaboration of Lori LIeberman in 1971

WATCH THE FUGEES-KILLING ME SOFTLY COVER BY ED PRIVAT ON DLIVE

It's "Killing Me Softly", and I ain't gonna lie, I really enjoy singing this song.

The man that Lori Lieberman talks about in the song, is the singer Don MClean (American Pie), and she was embarrassed of it for a very long time.She talks about how she learnt how to love the song again:

WATCH THE FUGEES-KILLING ME SOFTLY COVER BY ED PRIVAT ON DLIVE

What is crazy, is that the song was apparently composed in literally 10 minutes, by Charles Fox, you can see a video here of him talking about the genesis on the song

The great Roberta Flack's version leans toward the Bossa Nova side of things in 1973, adds the famous "woooooooh", but the song got really famous with Lauryn Hill and The Fugees, with a Hip Hop version that shook the world in 1996.

WATCH THE FUGEES-KILLING ME SOFTLY COVER BY ED PRIVAT ON DLIVE

I hope that I managed to grasp the spirit of it, I had to change the lyrics from her woman to a man perspective,

I will leave you with the lyrics modified

Strumming my pain with this fingers
Singing my life with these words
Killing me softly with this song
Killing me softly with this song
Telling my whole life with this words
Killing me softly with her song
I heard she sang a good song, I heard he had a style
And so I came to see her, to listen for a while
And there she was, this young girl, a stranger to my eyes

WATCH THE FUGEES-KILLING ME SOFTLY COVER BY ED PRIVAT ON DLIVE

Strumming my pain with this fingers
Singing my life with this words
Killing me softly with this song
Killing me softly with this song
Telling my whole life with this words
Killing me softly with her song

WATCH THE FUGEES-KILLING ME SOFTLY COVER BY ED PRIVAT ON DLIVE

I felt all flushed with fever, embarrassed by the crowd
I felt she'd found my letters and read each one out loud
I prayed that she would finish, but she just kept right on
Strumming my pain with this fingers
Singing my life with this words
Killing me softly with her song
Killing me softly with her song
Telling my whole life with her words
Killing me softly , with her song

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

MTV music awards, Universal Amphitheater, must have been about ‘95. ‘Seat-fillers.’ (Dress nice and the ushers seat you throughout the show as a ‘seat-filler,’ we did that for a couple of award shows) I was removed from my seat when Wycleff and his crew came to be seated next to me. Whycleff (why?) made it known he wouldn’t sit in that row because I was there and I was white. Shaquille O’Neil was in the seat directly in front of me, when wycleff was making a scene and I had to leave, Shaq looked at me like: ‘I can’t believe he’s doing this.’

I’m sure he’s not that way anymore. Another awesome cover!

Duuuuuuuude! That's such a damn cool story ! It's amazing the synchronicity we get from other people lives, these little gem of existence that resonates with all of us !Thank you so much for sharing it, I am delighted each and every time!

I am not surprised with this type of behavior, I have heard similar stories on Lauryn Hill, I can't really blame them , I have never been the biggest band in 95/96 , it probably fucks you up a little!

Shaq is a classy guy that's why!!! Him and the number 1 of Magic Orlando Penny Hardaway

Yes! Alright then, I won’t feel weird should I type a whole post as a response... Syncronized indeed. Happy Saturday everyone!

Happy Saturday Everyone !

Nice song Ed!

Thanks brother :)

YOOO EDDD! MY DUDE! THIS IS INCREDIBLE! Your voice is rad man. and your rendition of this song is super rad too. Diggin what youre putting down my friend!

Thanks bruh! You guys are on fire on your side, are you in Dallas too ?